Weather the weather

by S&M

Whether the weather is cold or whether the weather is hot
Whether the weather is nice or whether the weather is not
Whatever the weather we’ll weather the weather
Whether we like it or not!

We talked recently about liking summer, but only a little bit about why people like specific seasons (aside from a detailed list from the resident stand-up comedian). I’m curious what parts of the forecast people look at, beyond temperatures and precipitation that affects their commute.

How dependent on the weather are you? What types of weather do you need for your favorite activities? Do pollen or other weather-related factors influence your physical health and general well-being?

140 thoughts on “Weather the weather

  1. Hah — so clearly I should have posted about my new radiant heater joy here instead of on yesterday’s thread. :-)

    I love winter in winter places, because it is cold and sunny and you are totally prepped to go out and live your life in it. I hate winter here, because every flake of snow brings a grocery store run, and it tends to be icy and grey and wet and heavy, and it happens so relatively rarely that you tend to hunker down inside instead of just going out and doing things. Which means that right now, I am bored out of my skin after weeks of cold and rainy and icy and snowy.

    OTOH, I really hate summer, because at least with winter you can always put on another layer. Plus the ozone and pollen levels can really mess with any sort of outdoor fun or exercise attempt.

    All in all, I find our grey/dank winters and overly humid summers too conducive to sitting inside in climate-controlled comfort. Apparently I need to move back to CO.

  2. Agree with Laura.
    Currently brilliant sun, 0 clouds in the sky, no wind, 2′ of snow on the ground and it’s 35F. Perfect skiing weather. It’s a bright, beautiful winter day. If I were not in the office and not skiing, I would surely put a lawn chair on the driveway and soak up the rays both directly and reflected off the snow (proper Totebag level SPF applied before going outside).

    Mostly, I’m a Meatloaf ‘two out of three ain’t bad’ guy. Sunny & dry for me. Temp is not normally a deciding factor since we’re prepared for cold and I love it hot.

    I have ‘seasonal allergies’ but never having been tested to learn what specifically I’m allergic to I just take a generic Zyrtec every day and I don’t have the watery eyes, runny nose, cough symptoms. So as long as I take that med, I’m good.

  3. So long as you have proper kit, who cares the weather.

    As long as the subways are running, the weather doesn’t matter much to me. I credit my upbringing and time in England for this attitude.

    I do hate allergies though. I can no longer go to botanic gardens in the spring, allergy medicine notwithstanding.

  4. I don’t have pollen allergies, but DW does, which means we almost never open windows in our house. It also is a nightmare to keep the porch clean for about a month every Spring. My parents had their beach house screened porch rebuilt, and used the EZEBreeze system that seals off the outside, but can quickly open when desired (or partially open in Fall or Spring). Web picture:

    So I figure I’ll give it a few years at their house next to the water and see how it holds up, and if it does well there in the wind, sun, and salt, it will have no trouble shaded in the woods at my house.

  5. What types of weather do you need for your favorite activities?

    Sunny and 80.

    I like summer weather because the clothes are so much more comfortable. When it’s 5 and windy with a foot of snow you need a hat, undershirt, shirt, sweater, jacket, gloves, pants, boots, and then you need to store them and keep track of them when you arrive at your destination. In the summer it’s just a t-shirt, shorts and flip flops and you’re good to go.

  6. I hate winter with a passion. A day like today is my worst case scenario – cold, sunny, and dry, with tons of unmelting ice underfoot. The dry air makes my skin feel awful, and the cold makes me feel cold.

    Spring is my favorite season because everything is new and I know things are going to get better. I love summer too. Best of all are days when it is so hot that you just want to go swimming – because that is what I do. I am energetic in summer and full of plans. In winter, I just want to stay warm

  7. and dry

    And don’t get me started on the static electricity. I went to turn on the sink last night and got shocked so hard I yelped. I had apparently accumulated quite the charge.

  8. Rhett totally speaks the truth about clothes in summer. Don’t you just hate trying to find a place to stow your megaparka in a movie theater? Or going to the supermarket and trying to decide whether to run from the car to the store with no coat, or else wear it in and swelter for the next 20 minutes?

  9. I like 65-75 with low humidity. So, maybe 3 days of the year where I live? Poor cherry blossoms this year. They bloomed the earliest ever just in time to be hit by our first real snow of the season. Our weather leaves a lot to be desired.

  10. I agree that sun makes cold weather much more bearable. But wind speed is even more of a factor for me. Hiking is my newest hobby, but I’ve stayed home the last few weekends not so much because of the freezing temperatures (although that was a factor) but because of blustery conditions. I hate that it kicks up the general discomfort level, causing my eyes to tear and my nose to run. Even when I lived in the desert the wind was often the culprit in making outdoor activities less fun. In that case the wind picked up sand which was murder for my eyes when I wore contacts. Oh, and icy conditions keep me indoors. I have a special maybe partly irrational fear of falling and hurting myself on icy paths.

    But yeah, I generally prefer sunny and 80s. I also like the 90s although I’m out of practice for those higher temps. When I lived down south I used to run in the afternoons when the temperature was even in the high 90s. And yes, dry heat makes a difference. During the the summer I relish the sensation of stepping out of an icy air conditioned space into a hot sunny outside.

  11. “And don’t get me started on the static electricity.”

    That seems to affect some people more than others. I always try to carry a clothes dryer sheet with me so I can rub it on my hair and clothes. Otherwise my hair sticks out and my clothes get clingy.

  12. “I have a special maybe partly irrational fear of falling and hurting myself on icy paths.”

    Unfortunately, at our age, that fear is no longer irrational. :-(

  13. I think the worst possible weather is 32-40 degrees and rainy, followed closely by extreme heat (90+ and humid) and extreme cold (under 10 degrees and windy). These are the conditions where it is just untenable to be outside at all, and I hate being trapped inside more than anything. Cold rain is just the worst – it chills me to my bones in a way that takes hours to recover from & there is no practical clothing that can really protect you properly.

    I hate summer clothes. I am constantly sweaty & feel like I need to shower multiple times a day. I don’t like having my bare arms & legs exposed or having to worry about arranging my clothes before I sit down on the L. And I miss the pockets on fall/spring clothes like jeans and jackets over summer dresses and shorts. I far prefer when it is 50-70 and a large range of light layers works fine for all activities.

    I am allergic to tree pollen, and really only tree pollen, so I definitely watch that on the weather apps because I don’t take allergy meds year round. I generally only take them in the spring for a couple of months, but I have to watch the app when I travel. I need meds in Florida in February/March sometimes, for example.

  14. CoC – ITA re: the wind. Wind can make an otherwise lovely day, whatever the season, unbearable. I live on a very, very windy street so the last 5 minutes of my walk home is often just awful.

  15. I find Ivy’s comment about “32-40 and rainy to be the worst” interesting, because that’s about 4 months of my life. I find that way more tolerable (with an appropriate rain/squall jacket) than the snow/ice I grew up with. My shoes are often wet and they seem to wear out quickly.

    The months of grey bother me. I seldom look at the weather report because the range is from “rain” to “showers” and it doesn’t really matter which it is. Summers are nice here, though it gets hot only for an occasional few days. Mr WCE complains about not being able to sleep when evening indoor temperatures are in the 70’s (we have to open the door to the outdoor 50’s air) so I hope we never have to move or I’ll never hear the end of it.

  16. I love summer clothes.Winter clothes are so frumpy and dumpy. However, in summer, I don’t make the mistake I often see people making of wearing skintight clothes. Skintight in hot weather would be awful! I like really lightweight fabrics that kind of skim my body without clinging anywhere.

  17. I was in Seattle last week, where it was mainly raining and low 50’s. I didn’t mind it at all. I had brought a rain parka with me, the same one that went on our bike trip to the Netherlands, so I was dry. But when we got home on Sunday, it was 21 degrees here in NYC. Ooof!

  18. My ideal is 88 degrees and high humidity. I love it hot and humid. I leave the windows in my office open all summer. I don’t have allergies, and I feel most energetic when it’s warm.

    I will say, though, this past summer was too hot even for me. We had highs close to or at 100 nearly every day – very unusual for the coast. That was fatiguing/draining.

    I despise being cold, and I am always cold. The one bad thing about summer in the South is the painful over-airconditioning (except at night. I want it cold for sleeping).

  19. Kate – they have seasons.
    But my vote would go to lagirl having the best weather. But then again ‘I Love LA’.

  20. I think DD and RMS have the best weather of the regulars. Very jealous!

    It’s really not bad at all, except for a few super-snowy days and then a few super-hot days (there seem to be more of those than there were 20 years ago.) But I’ll take the San Francisco Peninsula weather any day. (Not San Francisco or Berkeley though — those are too cold all winter.) Santa Cruz isn’t bad at all although the insane rain this winter has given me pause.

    My ideal is 88 degrees and high humidity

    Dear sweet baby Jesus.

  21. I like having 4 seasons. The wind chill is a big factor here in the winter. I don’t like humidity. When I went to Hawaii, I was struck by how perfect the weather seemed every day. I think the lack of varability would get tiresome. Plus I like having more daylight hours in the summer.

  22. My fave is 88 to 90, but low humidity. We used to spend summers in eastern WA. It was perfect for me – hot and dry

  23. RMS – lol – I agree, that sounds like living in a petri dish. No Thank you.

    I love a spate of cold rainy days because it is cozy and makes having a cat more awesome. I love getting super cold outside and then the feel of a hot shower and big cozy clothes. I love hearing the rain or sleet against the window. I love how the bar for getting dressed drops so low on those days. I love how I sleep on those days.

    I also love today which is 44 and sunny! Perfection. Jacket, maybe gloves but you can move around without sweating also still cool enough to keep all the stupid fair weather trail users off MY trail. It is mine because i am there all the time, all four seasons, all weather. People who only come when it is “nice” are weak, soft and dilettantes unwelcome by me – especially the “birders”. Unrelated, tons of bald eagles around this area lately! Gorgeous!

    Basically, I like anything but hot and humid.

  24. I can’t stand humid weather, but I love the long days in the summer. I like to wear flip flops and I don’t have to worry about winter boots etc. I feel like I can’t breathe when it’s very humid. That’s why I never want to spend another summer in DC.

    I like fall because it’s beautiful where I live now. Plus, DD and DH have terrible seasonal allergies in the Spring. They prefer if all of the windows are shut even when it is a beautiful Spring day.

  25. I adore the heat, but humidity is not a friend to my skeleton. Arizona, west Texas, these are the perfect places for me. It’s why I love hot yoga — it’s like spending an hour a day in Phoenix. I’m hoping Santa Monica will be the same.

    I’m like MM — I love spring because it only gets better after that. May – Sept are my favorite months of the year, by far.

  26. Meanwhile, I have on the little space heater in my home office. There’s a piping hot blast coming out of it. I just looked down and the minpin is sitting about 1 cm away from it, soaking it up. Talk about a cold-fearing, heat-seeking animal.

  27. I like it to be between 80 and 90. Though I dont like humidity due to hair frizzing up, I prefer moderate humidity to dry heat.
    In the summer here, we can count on thunderstorms to sort of clear the air. We get a fair amount of rain but it’s dispersed through the year, the weather clears up quickly and the sun comes out. It is nice and bright all year round.

  28. I love fall. I love having four seasons. It is so beautiful outside. I love the first frost too, because I have allergies, and I’m happy when everything that I’m allergic to dies.

    I hate being super hot. I would much rather have it be super cold. Every winter my brother sends the cartoon of a sad stick figure saying, “Why do I live where the air hurts my face?” This year my sister sent a picture back of a giant snake on someone’s front door with a caption that said, “This is why I live where the air hurts my face.”

    I like rainy, fall Saturdays where I can be lazy and do nothing. I really enjoy rain and thunderstorms, so maybe I should move to Portland or Seattle.

  29. but humidity is not a friend to my skeleton

    Really? Are there osteoporosis issues involving humidity?

  30. Hate hot and humid which makes Atlanta in the summer unbearable. I love cold sunny winter days, real fall weather and 80 degree weather in the summer. Like Moxie, I like being outside in the cold and then coming home to the warmth, it’s so refreshing. The worst for me is cold and rainy like it was this week -my kids (and I) have been off of the wall. There was not a lot of recess at school this week and they haven’t spent their usual time outside when at home either. Yesterday made it into the 50s and was sunny so we all spent the afternoon outside (which totally cured the beginnings of a sinus headache for me). I need that Vitamin D.

  31. I like rainy, fall Saturdays

    Oh no. There is a certain combination of high 50 degree weather and high humidity that ( to borrow a term from MM) I just loath. It’s not hot and it’s raining so you have to wear a jacket but it’s so humid you end up all clammy. It makes me feel sick. Even thinking about it makes my skin crawl.

  32. RMS – not an OP-related thing, I don’t think. But I have this other bone issue–the one that resulted in artificial hips. The last time couple times DH and I were in Jamaica, my hair went completely curly, which was awesome, but I couldn’t really walk very well, and that was not awesome. I think that was my last visit to that island.

  33. I used to think I had Seasonal Affective Disorder, but the last time I lived far enough North that the short days/nights were 7-8 hours, with a long twilight before and after the sun hit the horizon, I found that it was actually the getting started in the dark that bothered me, not leaving work in the dark or having lights on in the afternoon evening. I made an effort to get outside in the middle of the day, so I’d see some sun/daylight. Now that DST has started, we are going to try one of those clocks with light to wake us up, starting on Monday. This morning I was up at 7:00–too late for him to catch the bus, the latest time we can drive to school on-time, and there was barely any light out there.

    Our body thermostats are really off from so much time in Florida. It’s been in the 50s and 60s lately. We decided not to go to Disney, because it’s too cold. Part of that is not having the right kit. When we went to the doctor’s the other day, it took me forever to get dressed, because I couldn’t find pants that fit, matching tops, etc.

    Louise, I’m with you on the moderate humidity. Our Az cousins always complained when they came to Ohio, but when I toured the campus in Tempe, I about died of dehydration (hyperbole, not actually).

  34. Ris–humidity on vaca is totally in the OP:
    beyond temperatures and precipitation that affects their commute

  35. “Winter clothes are so frumpy and dumpy”

    Only if that’s what you choose. I’ve posted on here before about bodysuits, thick tights/leggings, and nice-looking boots

  36. “Talk about a cold-fearing, heat-seeking animal.”

    My old-lady cat sleeps on the heat vent. :-)

  37. I love radiant heat! Those floors are amazing. My apt in Berlin had Kachelöfen. They are massive ceramic heaters that give off the coziest heat! Fetching a bucket of coal from the cellar to feed them every day was a pain, but the other 23.5 hrs, they were great

  38. LfB – we call the heat vent in the master bathroom “the minpin’s fireplace.” We regularly find her in there, laying in front of it as though it were a roaring fire.

  39. “we call the heat vent in the master bathroom ‘the minpin’s fireplace.'”

    Good that you know your place in the pecking order. Our cat has a way of curling around it so that she isn’t actually physically on the grates (which stick up and would be uncomfortable) and yet still manages to suck any heat that comes out of it, like a little kitty black hole.

    Hmm, now that I mention it, she is black . . . .

  40. How funny. I thought it was only my dog who hugged the floor grate when the heat is on. Also, we think he’s part cat. :)

    Some have mentioned how pleasant it is to be inside when it’s cold out. But that’s exactly why I prefer warm weather, so I don’t feel that I have to stay inside to be comfortable. The worst are icy winter nights (starting at around 4:30pm!) that keep me inside instead of out doing things I’d like to do.

    I feel sorry for all you allergy sufferers. I’ve only suffered a little from allergies, but the worst part imo is how energy draining it makes me feel.

  41. I like fall and winter best. Spring is meh and summer is too hot. Maybe if we win the lottery I can get a summer place in Newfoundland or something. :)

  42. “the worst part imo is how energy draining it makes me feel.”

    Yes! For years or decades I thought allergies = sniffles. The first time that energy suck hit me, I thought I was sick.

  43. My first grader is angry at how little snow we got this year. A few weeks ago, on the way to school, he heard the weather forecast saying it was going to be 60 degrees. He got mad and said, “I want to buy a house in Canada and spend winters there.”

  44. Ris, no, it won’t be remotely as humid as the Caribbean.

    Now that DST has started, we are going to try one of those clocks with light to wake us up, starting on Monday.

    DH and I have one of those, and we love it. It’s such a gentle way to wake up. It starts dim and as 30 minutes progresses, it gets lighter and lighter. Then if you are still kind of asleep (we usually aren’t by then) it plays gentle little chimes. It’s great.

  45. Your son can have my snow. I’m looking at piles of it right now at school pickup. I couldn’t believe how much remained in NYC, but it’s probably been too cold for it to melt. I saw huge trucks all day that were breaking up the snow piles to truck and dump.

    I use weather apps a lot. I’m obsessed with radar maps when big thunderstorms are predicted for our area. I like the technology that allows me to know what’s going on when there are major storms.

  46. “The last time couple times DH and I were in Jamaica, my hair went completely curly, which was awesome, but I couldn’t really walk very well, and that was not awesome.”

    Do you have rheumatism?

    The other thing I’m wondering is if this is was before or after your new hips.

  47. “When I went to Hawaii, I was struck by how perfect the weather seemed every day. I think the lack of varability would get tiresome.”

    I hope a lot of people agree with you on this.

  48. “Apparently I need to move back to CO.”

    Retirement home?

    DD and RMS could let you know when it’s a buyer’s market there.

    Have you found weather better in CO than in Taos?

  49. “I hate winter with a passion.”

    A number of posts have expressed dislike for the weather where the posters live, which has me wondering a couple of things:

    -Why do you choose to live there if you so dislike the weather?

    -Are you considering moving where the weather is more to your liking, either in the near future or in retirement?

  50. Finn,

    Loath – reluctant or unwilling. I am loath to leave. I can’t say that I’ve ever seen or heard that word used. I seem to recall people saying loathed as in I’m loathed to leave.

  51. “I miss the pockets on fall/spring clothes like jeans and jackets over summer dresses and shorts.”

    Solution: Cargo shorts.

  52. loath: adjective, as in, “I am loath to leave.”

    loathe: verb, as in, “I just loathe leaving.”

  53. -Why do you choose to live there if you so dislike the weather?

    Because just at the point you’re about to say fuck it we’re moving, it starts getting nice again.

  54. Perhaps you meant loathe?

    And on the “When Talking is the Wrong…” thread at 1:12, perhaps you meant cost, not costed.

  55. About 60 degrees, slightly hazy to full sun. Probably 10 days a year qualify in my current location. Second choice is a windless, cloudless deep winter day with that amazing high NE blue sky. Temp not important at all. I have a warm coat, gloves, hat. (And now a heated steering wheel and heated seats and remote starter.) 88 and high humidity reminds me of my childhood in DC. No thank you.

    I can’t fit two car seats and the first booster I tried in the back seat of the RAV4. I am going to order another one online to see whether it will do. Oldest granddaughter is approaching 8 so she could sit in a seat belt legally, but her parents would prefer a booster seat since she weighs so little.

  56. Finn – no rheumatism here. If it were simply that Jamaica exacerbates an underlying issue, I would find it easier to take. I would’ve known to expect it, and maybe could’ve planned for it somehow. It’s hard to explain how frustrating it is to go from feeling fit and “normal” to suddenly being unable to walk properly.

    Both of those trips were post-fake hips (which I’ve had for 17 years now) but now that I think of it, both trips were around the time I realized I needed to have one hip revised. The first trip was with the kids. On our second day, I took two steps onto the beach and said to DS, “This might sound crazy, but it feels like my hip joint is coming apart.” I saw my my hip guy as soon we got home and sure enough, the fake acetabulum had come loose. It took being in the Jamaican humidity for me to really notice it.

    The second trip was after the revision surgery (replacing fake acetabulum w/ new one, among a few other things) and as you may recall (from my copious whining), I had significant struggles with my gait after that operation. I had overcome them before we went to the island, through no small effort, so to then show up in Jamaica and have my gait completely fall apart was so disappointing and frustrating. It kills me to strike it off my list. I have a cousin there, and the country has played a big role in my life. But the gait-killing attributes of that kind of humidity are just soul crushing for me.

  57. @Finn: family and jobs — far more important than weather at this point. I would not have left CO to come back east if we hadn’t had to leave, but now that we are all settled here, I plan to take advantage of those two benefits for as long as I have them. And once the kids are grown and the jobs are irrelevant, we will move for at least part of the year (which, not coincidentally, will likely involve the summer and winter).

    I like CO and Taos similarly, although to be fair CO has total rose-colored glasses because all the memories are tied together with my old house there. CO is also one of the few places I would consider moving while still working, as there are actual jobs there that don’t involve the phrase “would you like fries with that?” It’s just that we have no plans to actively look for that kind of change, which makes it extremely unlikely to just sort of happen by accident.

  58. “Second choice is a windless, cloudless deep winter day with that amazing high NE blue sky. ”

    Today is pretty close to that. 42 degrees, sunny, not a cloud in the sky. but lots of snow still on the ground. Tomorrow the forecast is for a few inches of snow.

  59. Meme, do you or your DIL belong to any parent boards on Facebook? Lots of people pose questions about certain brands of car seats and boosters that fit in each car. Other parents usually will be able to provide advice about what brands will fit side by side in the RAV4. Many people have the same problem as you, but you need RAV4 advice. I remember that I couldn’t fit three Graco or Britax in the Highlander, but there were narrow seats with high ratings from other brands.

  60. MM, unless it is below zero or the car is really far away from the door, the choice between being cold on the dash to the door or wearing the coat indoors for hours is usually an easy one.
    I have learned to embrace the cold, and when the sun is shining it’s not too bad. I would much rather have sunshine and 20 degrees (perfect skiing weather) than gray skies and 45. Perfect weather is 80 degrees with puffy clouds and no humidity. 70 is nice too but a tad chilly for the pool.

  61. I am loath to close. We are not enemies but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passions may have strained, they must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory, stretching from every battlefield and patriot grave to every living heart and hearth stone across this broad land, will yet swell with the chorus of Union when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature.

  62. Lauren – I spoke to DIL and she isn’t worried if the 8 year old rides squished between her sisters without a booster for short jaunts around town. I ordered the one that is rated narrowest from Amazon to try it out. One of the carseats can be used with a seat belt instead of the harness without modification because it has the cutouts. So we have a lot of options. I got credit for trying and getting a bigger car anyway.

  63. “Finn, I learned something new.”

    I’m glad to hear that. I suspected you were not aware of the difference.

    It’s not always just about being edgy.

  64. “There is a certain combination of high 50 degree weather and high humidity that ( to borrow a term from MM) I just loath. It’s not hot and it’s raining so you have to wear a jacket but it’s so humid you end up all clammy. It makes me feel sick. Even thinking about it makes my skin crawl.”

    Oh I hate that too.

    But 50 and raining is much more tolerable than 35 and raining. I think 35 and raining is the absolute worst. At that point, I wish it was 5 degrees colder so it would just snow.

  65. Meme – if you want to try for new car seats instead of a booster, Diono Radians are the most narrow that I could find. But way more expensive than a cheapie booster.

  66. And a toast for St Patrick’s Day just uttered over our early bird corned beef dinner with a pint of Guinness

    May you get to heaven a half hour before the devil knows you’re dead.

  67. Meme: Why don’t you have her sit on a few folded up pool towels? It will give her the boost that she needs and you can configure them as you see fit.

  68. We have the Diono car seats. They way about 300 pounds. They are fine because we haven’t removed them in 5 years. I would not want to have to lug them around or move in and out a lot.

  69. I need to exhaust all reasonable possibilities 300 dollar extremely heavy car seats not being reasonable, before suggesting the towels. If your MIL just said, this booster requirement is silly I’m just going fold up some towels,( insert any generationally different parenting practice here ) I don’t think it would go over all that well.

  70. Meme – when we fly, I bring Cosco Scenera car seats and Bubble Bum boosters. Both are cheap, lightweight and narrow, so they stand a high probability of fitting in a rental car even if we don’t end up with the car we requested.

  71. So, fun! Got the school nurse call this afternoon — I assumed DS was sick (sniffling last few days), but no: once again, he had an accident on the playground (this one involving “sharks and minnows” instead of soccer goalie); once again, she thought he needed to be seen. Given that the last time she said those words he ended up having a broken finger, we went right to urgent care. And after the typical bureaucratic 3.5-hr visit (thanks, Kaiser!), sure enough: 2nd, 3rd, and probably 4th metatarsals are fractured. Now he has an awesome high-tech boot that requires a Ph.D to put on, crutches, and an appointment with a podiatrist next week once the swelling goes down to see if he needs surgery, a cast, etc.

    So, 11 years with no breaks/sprains/major injuries, and then two breaks in just a few months. Guess who’s going to be drinking extra milk from here on out? Joy!

  72. Kate – The car seats (Evenflo’s nana model) are not big, and I already had them. Bubble Bum got awful reviews on Amazon, so thanks for the recommendation from an actual user. It will be our third and last try before beach towels – I had already ordered the second attempt – a really new model recommended by a Dad who had to fit a couple into the rear seats of his Porsche 911.

  73. Meme – give the Bubble a shot. I like it because I can throw it in my bag if we take an Uber/cab. I wouldn’t leave it in the car fulltime. The weather extremes might ruin it. It isn’t good for every day use, but for a few times a month it could work for $30.

    The other thing that you could try is https://ridesafertravelvest.com

    I think they are about $150, though.

  74. Thanks, all – yeah, DD, right at the start of baseball season, too (2nd of 3 weeks of assessments tomorrow — oh well!).

  75. We have had good luck with the bubble bum as well for travel/relatives’ cars.

    Your kids are lucky to have your attitude, Meme. That said, the older my kid gets, the more willing I am to shrug at the folded up towels!

  76. In thinking about weather I am reminded me of a paragraph in Bridget Jones’ Diary where the London weather is sunny and warm, and she feels this guilty need to be outside, having fun in a flowing dress and sandals. She thinks of people in Spain and Italy being cavalier about a lovely warm day because they know that tomorrow and the next day, etc. will still be lovely and warm, whereas in London she may wait for weeks for another such day.

    I feel that way, too sometimes in San Francisco, when we have one of those rare 80 degree days!

  77. Meme’s car seat question reminds me of my MIL’s polite tolerance for putting sunscreen on my kids when they spend significant time outside and then giving them nightly showers/baths to wash it off in the evening.

  78. We tend to have the opposite experience in how the two generations handle the CFR Rules on Childcare.

    My kids were in a wedding party last Fall. The mother of the bride, a retired HR manager who, by nature, adores regulations, wanted them to be able to ride in the limousine, so she had several conversations with the limo service about its ability to accommodate booster seats. She told me at least five times to make sure that I had booster seats at the church for the limo, and where they could go in the limo.

    First I just shrugged and agreed. Then the fifth time it hit me, and I gently explained that the purpose of a booster seat is to elevate the child into the proper position for a shoulder belt. The limo was an entirely aftermarket customization that, as far as I can tell, is entirely unregulated by federal and state agencies, and includes only lap belts. So a booster seat would serve no purpose whatsoever.

    In the end, I think one wore a lap belt, and two shared a lap belt, in a nod to my 1980s childhood.

  79. Meme – you attitude is so refreshing.
    Sorry to hear LFB.

    My whole house except FIL and myself have been stricken by a nasty viral cough. DS has been home from school for more than a week now, DD, DH and MIL are also sick.
    Only MIL got antibiotics, the kids continue to cough their lungs out.

  80. @SM — nope, just crutches. Although I assume the school will give him whatever time he needs to get to/from class.

    I have to say, this has really brought home the personality differences between my kids — he is just totally Mr. “whatever, no big deal.” DD would be having a freakout about missing softball (even though she now purportedly hates it), would be constantly in pain and complaining about the crutches, would have spent the entire 3.5 hrs waiting bored/in pain/complaining (and generally making it more miserable than it already was), would now need help with everything and be having me fetch her something every 5 minutes, etc. DS basically sat in the wheelchair for 3.5 hrs waiting yesterday afternoon playing video games, cooperated with all of the nurses’/techs’/doctor’s instructions, came home, played video games, went to bed, figured out how-to reinstall the NASA-approved boot and get downstairs on his own, and has been happily playing videogames again all morning. Just, like, yeah, this bad thing happened, no sense getting all worked up over it — get on with it, time to resume your regularly-scheduled programming.

    You know what it is? I think I have a Milo.

  81. Oh, sorry about the accident LfB. And Louise about the family virus. Ugh. Meme, my MIL was as good as you are about the kids. It’s a blessing to have that.

    I was reading some real estate articles. This long commute caught my eye.

    “We knew we had to give up something somewhere,” said Alexandra White, 34, a grant writer, who recently moved to Bedford, N.Y., in Westchester, from the Upper West Side with her husband, Nulty White, 32, who specializes in corporate branding. While she works from home, his commute to the city now takes roughly an hour and 45 minutes each way. “He doesn’t mind,” Ms. White said. “He says it’s like coming home to vacation every day.”

    How to Pick the Right New York City Suburb

    Meanwhile, living in the city can be an affordable option.

    350 Square Feet, Two Kids, Two Cats and a Rabbit

  82. Lfb – I hear you. My recent appendectomy DS is like that. I just marvel and appreciate it so much. I just think how much less he will suffer in life and how much others want to be around that- family and hordes of friends were clamoring to visit him.

  83. On weather – so much depends on what you are trying to do that day. I love hot weather, but it’s different when you have to work, put on professional clothes, get in a hot car, etc. Now I wear shorts and sandals everyday, go swimming, stay in the ocean breeze, etc. When I was a student in Boston, it seemed like ideal “might as well study” weather

  84. CoC, I’ve seen several pieces recently on small-ish NY apts–under 1000 sf but bigger than that–available for amounts of money a person could actually pay, sometimes under $1M, sometimes less than half that. They make me think of Lauren, but I assume she has a better handle on what’s available and what her family needs than I’d ever know about them, so I don’t post them here.

    This is a cool story about the drama of research in the sciences. I’ve never heard of Beetz, Waitt, or the floods. Formed by Megafloods, This Place Fooled Scientists for Decades – National Geographic
    https://apple.news/A2wIXuPqPR96_KlmtR8-N-A

  85. Well, I guess the wettable terra cotta disc would keep the brown sugar soft — but then what would I do with all of the end slices of bread that no one will eat?

  86. S & M, I wish I could convince my husband to move back to NYC. If we get an unplanned windfall, I might be able to buy a small studio that we can use when we are in the city.

  87. Awesome article, SM — especially enjoyed the photography, that geography out there is amazing.

  88. I used to soak a clean terracotta pot shard in water and then put it in with the brown sugar. Works pretty well. Also costs nothing except a few curse words when the terracotta pot was first knocked off the shelf.

  89. Crap — DH has that cough, too — even missed work one day because of it, which never happens. That is what I was expecting the nurse’s call yesterday to be about, because DS had just started to show some of the same early symptoms as DH (I was actually working from home yesterday because I was so sure that call was coming). *Lovely* to know it lasts weeks and has no treatment. Awesome.

  90. Because I am an olden person, I only just today learned the word “promposal”. DSS and his then-girlfriend-now-wife just went to prom with a bunch of their friends, one girl wearing a duct-tape prom dress. (She’s now an architect in Chicago.) InMyDay®, our group of boys and girls sorted ourselves into boy-girl pairs, had a nice dinner at someone’s house, and then went on to prom. We danced a few dances and then sat around gossiping about all the Populars who were taking this shit seriously. Promposals, ye gods.

  91. LfB – cough drops and sips of water are about the only relief. Nasal spray helps. All other OTC medication doesn’t work.

  92. Louise,

    If you or your kids have been to the Southwest, you might want to have them evaluated for Valley Fever.

  93. RMS – My DH’s proposal was a lot less elaborate than many of these promposals. And it was perfectly lovely! Why are Kids These Days doing this to themselves??

  94. Why are Kids These Days doing this to themselves??

    Excellent question. I think they need more homework.

  95. “‘Why are Kids These Days doing this to themselves??’

    Excellent question. I think they need more homework.”

    Either that, or more reds.

  96. Hmm good to know that the five to ten week cough (including the at least one week of flat out exhaustion) is approved by royalty.

    I appreciate all the favorable comments on my grandparenting. I may have by now compensated for substantial deficits during my youthful parenting phase.

    My cousin, whose grandson’s bar mitzvah I attended on impulse last summer, passed away today at 79. DH’s cousin was terminally ill and disconnected her own life support last month at 71. What the fu)k do I have to do that is worth more during the 10 percent of my nothing but leisure time it takes to help out my kids or hang out with my grand babies.

  97. “DH’s cousin was terminally ill and disconnected her own life support last month at 71.”

    Wow. I think she is my role model. Seriously though, I suspect this is rare. How did her survivor’s react?

  98. Two recent books I liked.

    The Lost City of the Monkey God (mentioned by a poster here) and The Hot Zone.

  99. Thanks for the book recommendations because I’ve been looking for something good to read. I can’t stop thinking about Pachinko by Min Jin Lee. I finished the book a few weeks and I really enjoyed it.

  100. More homework? DS says promposals block the halls and make him late to class. They must need more schoolwork! Btw, TAL featured promposals in a recent show.

    Because I looked up size 12 girls winter jackets for Mooshi, N Rack is bombarding me with ads for them, including

    This for $54

    And this for $40

  101. ET – She just unplugged the machine she had a home – not formally hospice, but clearly so in her mind – after everyone went to bed. Her child, husband, only brother and new grandchild were all staying in the house. A rare cancer was making it hard for her to breathe, and I think the loved ones were still trying to convince her to travel to a medical center to have an experimental surgery. They were broken up and not quite ready, but she was. She did it her way was the refrain.

  102. She would not have been willing to involve others in an illegal assisted suicide, and she was not back in the hospital where she would have been unable to achieve her objected. She was a public figure who ran a women’s shelter for many years, and a tough product of old school labor movement in NY city.

  103. The point of sharing that originally was indeed intended to shock a bit – not about what she did – but reinforcing the value of paying attention TODAY and doing what comes to your hand to do. Embracing a life without paid work and being a help to the adult kids and a hands on grandmother (who tries not to annoy her DIL) when you are my “young old” age isn’t a sacrifice. I am so lucky.

  104. That’s a lovely attitude, Meme. My former MIL once told me that her life’s goal, once she was retired, was to make it easier for her children to raise their children. She has spent the past 3 decades traveling from son to son (not full-time — she still has her own house) and joining her boys and their families on vacations so they’ll have an extra adult to pitch in. She stays with her grandkids often so her sons and their wives can get away. She has helped us countless times, staying with my kids and stepkids so DH and I could get away. She has absolutely fulfilled the goal she set for herself. She has been a huge help to everyone in my generation and has formed exceptionally close relationships with her grandchildren (including my stepkids, who she claims as her own). She has set a terrific example and I hope to be just like her–and like you, Meme–when I’m a grandmother.

  105. Meme, I really appreciate you sharing that story. I think it’s awesome she did that. One of the things I hate the most about my job is dealing with patients’ families who insist on doing everything for the patient when the patient clearly doesn’t want it, but the patient agrees to make her family happy. Even worse is when the patient has dementia and has no idea what’s going on.

  106. DD,

    I agree that is a terrible situation for the medical team. How often do you see the reverse — when the patient wants to do more but the family just wants to be done?

  107. Scarlett, hardly ever. The patients (non-dementia ones, obviously) usually have a pretty good understanding of their situation and are ready to go before their families are ready to let them go.

  108. Another book I am reading – The Story of Hebrew. I think some posters here will have more of a background and be able to relate better than I can.
    I can relate some because some of the words are ones I hear in church.
    I like history and I am ploughing my way through the book. Makes me wish I had studied Sanskrit or Latin. Actually, I wish I had a classical education.

  109. I wish I had a classical education.

    Me too! That’s on the theoretical retirement agenda when DH actually retires.

  110. Damn, Meme, once again reaffirming why you are who I want to be when I grow up.

  111. That’s a great idea!

    The home corned beef in the sous vide was awesome. I saw a bunch of different time/temps but decided to go with Serious Eats recco, which was 180 degrees for 10 hours. Then cool & reheat gently. Best ever & the leftovers for Reubens are great too.

  112. Meme – we have the Diono Radian for #3. It weighs a ton. I don’t really like the bubble bum ones bc they shift around. How old is #3 grandchild? We have had success putting the car seat in the middle and the two boosters on the side seats. Also, different boosters have different widths – we have one that is quite narrow so works well.

  113. L she will be 8 in 3 weeks. No legal requirement for a booster seat. She weighs about 42 lbs though and normal height. Just want to make sure the seat belt has something to grab onto and the shoulder belt is properly position.

  114. Meme – ours is light but not quite that light; I would put her in a booster at that weight. :)

Comments are closed.