The power of essential oils

by S&M

I’m intrigued by this idea. I think of essential oils as expensive, but maybe not, compared to cleaning products. Have you tried this or anything similar? How did it work?

Add essential oils to your cleaning routine.

Just as color can lift our mood, scent can be calming, energizing, or clarifying. Rosemary is refreshing and makes a great disinfectant; tea tree oil is calming and makes a good all-purpose cleaner; and orange oil is cheerful and works well for degreasers. The Kitchn archives are full of recipes for any mood or mess.

10 Ways to Fill Your Kitchen with Positive Energy

121 thoughts on “The power of essential oils

  1. If the Totebag had a custom scent this would be it:

    Méridien hotels, walked into an unusual perfume store in Manhattan called Le Labo. The store, which designs custom fragrances, belonged to two young Frenchmen, Edouard Roschi and Fabrice Penot, and Penot began talking to Ziegler about a scent he’d always had in his head. “The idea was to do a scent of old books in a wonderful library, old paper, leather, wooden shelves,” says Penot. Ziegler was shopping for a smell for Le Méridien, and she asked Le Labo to make it for her.

    Since Le Méridien was founded in 1972 by Air France, Penot and Roschi took a very old copy of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry’s Le Petit Prince—the author was a pilot—and had the rich smell of the book’s pages analyzed. (Capturing the scents of familiar objects is quite standard in this industry, though presumably the choice of this particular old book for the testing was more whimsical then determinative.) They used the results to create a scent, which they took to Ziegler. She decided it would be Le Méridien’s signature fragrance, its olfactory logo.

  2. Wow, Leslie and Adam chose the exact same Maisie yellow for their kitchen walls that we did!

  3. In fact, their kitchen looks very much like mine except I have no upper cabinets and my counters are deep blue tile

  4. I am just happy if there aren’t bowls of congealed food left out, or sludge all over the counters, or crumbs and sticky goo on the floor. I’ll leave the aromatherapy to those with more energy and time than I have

  5. I have found that some scents give me headaches. Even a perfume I loved now is hard for me to tolerate. I like the eucalypus/spearment scent from Bath and Body Works. Theieves oil might be good, but when it is very concentrated it makes me sneeze. The “fresher” smells like lavender, vanilla, lemon are OK, but the “flowery” ones tend to bring on the headaches.

    A good friend of mine swears by the essential oils for cleaning and medicinal purposes. In concentrated form they are pretty pricey and she has a collection of them. I am not sure I believe all the curative claims, but I know that the placebo effect can be a factor as well.

    I think there is a balance of dirt/bacteria in your life that is needed to keep your immune system going strong, but not so much that you tip the balance into poor personal hygiene or living in filth.

  6. I wish roses still had a scent. My dad was an avid gardener and grew lots of roses. He sought out ones that still smelled like roses. I miss that. I’d buy rose oil if it actually smelled like roses. I’ve never tried any.

  7. DH and DS are allergic to perfumes and other strong scents. I did find some nice smelling hair products that they can deal with, so I’m happy. I have a few scented candles that I burn when DH is not home. That’s about it.

  8. I love trying different scents. In the home country there were very powerful scents on joss sticks like jasmine, sandalwood, tube rose etc. I still like those.
    I buy perfume from Jo Malone which has some of those scents in their perfumes. I have got a lot of compliments while wearing their perfumes. I also like the oils in Aveda products.
    For the house the products are scents we associate with “freshly cleaned”. Manufacturers I think do that on purpose.

  9. DH is also really sensitive to scents. Hates cologne/perfumes. He gags when we go into a home with one of those plug-ins. So I try to keep anything scented (cleaners, hand soaps, etc) either citrus or mint which he seems okay with in small doses. I buy him unscented bath products, use unscented lotions, etc.

    “I have a few scented candles that I burn when DH is not home.”

    Me too – only when he’s not around. I think it is a clove/berry type scent.

  10. Rhett, I’m an investor in one of those signature scent companies. There is a trend for luxury high rises to also have signature scents. I’m amazed at how well they can make something that is evocative, memorable yet subtle and not offensive to the large numbers of people who dislike scents ( see all of the comments above )

  11. I loathe scented lobbies in hotels – they give me a migraine. Probably because I am dehydrated already from the travel. I like essential oils and have my kids hooked on baths with epsom salts, essential oils and bubble bath, but I would prefer to control the level of scent. I use the Mrs. Meyers cleaning products mostly but I find that our housekeeper loves products with bleach and mistolin.

  12. CoC, I haven’t tried any of the concoctions, nor do I worry about toxic chemicals. (I clean with them. I don’t eat them.) My view is any cleaning done in my home is better than no cleaning at all. I mostly looked up the blog because it was the most realistic assessment of what essential oils do. One of my biologist friends compared Pine Sol, bleach and Lysol when we were in college, and his conclusion is that they all kill germs well.

    Her tests confirm my belief that cleaning with vinegar (basically 5% acetic acid) is only slightly better than cleaning with water, other than maybe vinegar is a little better on mineral buildup in the bathroom. Because I live in the land of fruits and nuts, my Facebook commonly has comments about the harms of common cleaners and the joy of cleaning with water, vinegar and essential oil.

    I am very skeptical of the supply chain for essential oils and suspect some are doctored/diluted, so if I were into essential oils, I would pay a premium for what I believe to be a reliable supplier, like I do for vitamins or fish oil.

  13. I am about 50/50 on scented things. Scents I pick out are great. Perfumes that ANYONE ELSE wears, especially the super-strong kind, and any kind of air freshener (particularly the car ones) are AWFUL. I really dislike anything from Bath & Body Works etc. that is supposed to be “vanilla”. Smells nothing like vanilla extract and is just yucky.

    HM, if you are ever on the East Coast, the rosa rugosa that bloom on Nantucket and elsewhere (north) along the coast still do smell like roses. :)

  14. I’m about 50/50 on scents as well. I hate the ones that have an artificial/strong scent and I loathe car air fresheners.

    In about a month, the combination of citrus blossoms and star jasmine begins. That scent combined that with the beginnings of warm nights…..heaven

  15. I’m too lazy to use essential oils in my cleaners but I’ve seen them on Amazon for what seems like a good price. I make my cleaning products from a company called Branch Basics which I’ve been hoarding for the last year because they stopped production (they keep saying the new formula is coming soon). I do have some tea tree oil in my bathroom and the kids (and me) take epsom salt baths. None of us can stand fake perfume smelling stuff so we use Beauty Counter for all of our shampoo/conditioner/bath stuff.

  16. One reason this idea intrigues me is that I can’t do most scented products (I would’ve added this to the OP if I knew how many others here also can’t). Plug-in rooms scents, fragrance in shampoo, perfumes–I avoid all of it. But when I’ve had essential oils used as part of a massage, or been in places where one is in a diffuser, I’ve been fine with it. I think part of the problem is probably the blend. The bases in commercial products may be different from the simple oils used with essential oils, and when something contains “fragrance”, there’s no telling what it is. If I were offered an essential oil of something I know I’m allergic to, I’d know to turn it down, and if I unexpectedly reacted badly to an essential oil, I’d know immediately what it was. Even “concoctions” tend to be three or less, so not hard to use process of elimination.

    Scented lobbies–like Mafalda says, subtlety is where it’s at! If you don’t notice it the first few times you’re in the lobby, it’s usually good. I thought the comments on old book scents were funny. A page of an old book might smell good, but I’ve been in enough archives to know the musty smell of lots and lots of old papers together–not something most people would want to bring home.

  17. Pseudonym- agree! The magical feeling from encountering a nice smell in nature is very hard to replicate. – citrus blossoms! Gardenias outside, Jasmine, roses, pine needles, the smell of the ocean… About half the time it crosses into gross.

  18. WCE, your friend may be right about germ-killing properties of vinegar, but it is much better at wiping cabinet fronts and getting marks of unknown origins off wood and sometimes floors than plain water is. No contest!

  19. Rocky, my dad grew roses too! Visitors often remarked on his beautiful roses, and I spent many evenings with him, clipping spent blooms and plucking off Japanese beetles. For a few years, ‘saac and I made cutting back the old canes at the start of summer part of our regular visits. When he could cut things that were hard for his grandpa, it was a strange mix of pride in my growing boy who was eager to take on challenges and sadness that my dad couldn’t do it any more. My parents recently had the retaining wall where the roses grew replaced. The new one has gravel and stones along the top, no place for roses. My dad’s glad not to have the work of caring for them any more, but is also sad, as are the rest of us. I hope my sister and her family step up to help with the ones around the pool!
    But about the scents: a decade or more ago, there were some Hybrid Teas that were bred for the fragrance. I don’t know the names, but expect a greenhouse would. And I don’t know about rose oil, but I think rosewater contains some of that familiar essence.

  20. Here one scent that I love in nature is Magnolia flowers. Alas, short season so I try to be outside during the season as much as I can.

  21. Ivy, can your husband deal with cloves and maybe cinnamon sticks boiled on the stove? I like that scent, but not the artificial versions.

  22. My roses have lots of scent! When they are blooming, you can smell it all over the front. I grow the old fashioned roses and also lots of New Dawn climbers.

  23. Louise, you mentioned sandalwood. I was recently surprised at what a good nose my kid has. A few years ago he went through a phase where he was all into air fresheners–plug-ins and sprays, the cheap kind. I guess they do an ok job of imitating sandalwood, because when I was cleaning something out, I came across a piece of sandalwood maybe 6″ long and 1″ in diameter that I’d gotten in Zanzibar in the mid-90s. I tossed it to him without saying anything. He sniffed it and immediately said “sandalwood!” I have no idea if that indicates preternatural ability on his part, or just how very weak my sense of smell is.

  24. I second the recommendation of Jo Malone. It is the only brand of fragrance or scent products I buy.

  25. Eh. I haven’t paid attention to essential oils, because I am allergic to a lot of nature, many scents bother me, and because it sounds froofy and new-agey. That blog WCE linked, though, suggests there may be some there there, so who knew?

    The only scents I can tolerate are fresh ones — pinon is one of my favorites, along with eucalyptus, followed by peach. Citrus is good for cleaning products — the lemon oil we use on the table is nice.

  26. I’ve never figured out how to maintain any particular subtle but pleasant home fragrance in my home. Maybe it’s partly because I probably become acclimated to a particular fragrance and stop noticing it after a while, but I also think the fragrance from typical methods like diffusers or sprays or candles doesn’t really last very long.

  27. Someone I know said that oregano oil worked to get rid of toenail fungus, but then his feet smelled like pizza!

  28. but I also think the fragrance from typical methods like diffusers or sprays or candles doesn’t really last very long.

    You go nose blind to it. On the other hand, you also go nose blind to whatever stench accumulates in your own home. I like to err on the side of being nose blind to a pleasing odor.

  29. In the winter, if I get around to it, I put mulling spices in a crockpot filled with water and put it on low. That’s a nice way to scent the home. Also adds a little humidity, which is desperately needed in Colorado.

  30. “Ivy, can your husband deal with cloves and maybe cinnamon sticks boiled on the stove? I like that scent, but not the artificial versions.”

    Yeah that’s fine, but I don’t really do it too often. If I do, it’s usually in mulled wine or cider! I think it’s more the strong artificial scents. Yankee Candle is his nightmare. He can’t even walk by it without gagging.

  31. Ah, so home fragrance products are NOT for homeowners to enjoy but for the guests. That makes sense. Sometimes I feel the need to explain to someone who comes in our door that we cooked cabbage yesterday in case the smell is still there but I can’t smell it. Cats can be a source of bad smells that the owner doesn’t notice.

  32. When I walk by a Bath and Body Works store in the mall I want to hold my nose because the smell is overpowering.

  33. ” I like to err on the side of being nose blind to a pleasing odor.”

    I can agree with that, but what to you use? I can’t see you using something as garish as a Glade plug-in. :)

  34. My DH doesn’t like certain smells of food and hates a fishy smell or what he perceives as fishy. It is comical how he turns on the exhaust high, opens the windows and sprays odor neutralizer.

  35. We have a war of smells over bananas in our home. Some other family members like well-ripened bananas and I can’t stand that smell. I like almost-green bananas.

  36. I can’t stand Lush. We won’t let our DD buy or keep anything for that store. I bought a Hanukkah gift for my niece from Lush because she only wanted stuff from there for the holiday. I wrapped it in two plastic bags and put it upstairs until I could give it to her.

    I don’t like perfume or scents unless it’s citrus in cleaning products. Our DD still lives in Bath and Body when she visits the mall. We let her have stuff that doesn’t stink up the whole house. She maintains a large collection of unopened stuff in her room. She’s obsessed with that store, and the only good thing is that she’s become an expert on how to spend very little to get a lot of product.

    I really like flowers, but my husband swears that it aggravates his allergies. We have a lot of candy or baked treats in lieu of flowers for certain occasions.

  37. Jo Malone is too perfumey for me. I have Jo Malone hand lotion and I almost never use it. If I have an inkling of a headache, it will bring it on. I used unscented lotion and will sometimes add a drop of essential oil to it. I only use perfume when I am going to a black tie event – I think I have connections to my mom using Chanel No. 5 when she went to fancy parties when we were kids.

  38. “We don’t fry food in the house, due to the lingering smell.”

    For the same reason, I make fried chicken once a year – usually around Labor Day – when it is a good temp to keep the windows open all day & night.

  39. Not all essential oils are safe to be used around little ones. Even eucalyptus which my mom used on uss all the time!
    I love frankincense, sandalwood etc. I also I’ve rose in a perfume. Very basic I guess.
    I will try the jo Malone perfumes!

  40. I don’t let the smell stop me from frying food inside. I just crank the window a bit when it’s winter and then summer some cinnamon and cloves. I mean I am not going to stop eating things just in case someone drops by and smells my food. People live in the house, it is gonna be messy and smell of food.

  41. who is spending $120 on a candle??

    L keeps one burning in the rotunda and it diffuses beautifully through both wings of L’Abbey.

  42. For the same reason, I make fried chicken once a year – usually around Labor Day – when it is a good temp to keep the windows open all day & night.

    If I’m having guests over OR if I’m cooking something DH hates the smell of, I’ll take my electric skillet out to the back yard. Obviously this doesn’t work if there’s snow. Otherwise, the house can just smell like fried foods for a day or two.

  43. This discussion reminds me how glad I am to be back to my normal, insensitive to scents self. When I was pregnant, Mr WCE had to eat salmon on the deck, because just the lingering smell of it made me sick.

  44. I completely agree that walking by Yankee Candle is awful. If I catch half a breath of Bath and Bodyworks, I think it’s nice, but if I linger, it’s gross.

    LfB, a tip I saw somewhere was to hang fresh eucalyptus over your shower rod to get the great smell for days or weeks. One of these days I may try it. Eucalyptus scent + wooden benches and shelves reminds me of German spas or fancy locker rooms.

  45. “If I’m having guests over OR if I’m cooking something DH hates the smell of, I’ll take my electric skillet out to the back yard. ”

    We have a standalone deep fryer, so whenever we want to deep fry something (used to be a lot more often before kids), I’ll take it outside and cook there.

    But it’s not the smell that makes me take it outside. MIL used to fry stuff a lot, and I noticed when I tried to help them clean their house that it seemed like some of the oil would atomize and spread through the house. With time and mixing with dust, it formed a nasty, greasy layer on top of a lot of things (e.g., baseboards) that was almost impossible to clean.

  46. I have some friends from India whose house I love to visit because it always smells like Indian spices from cooking or making chai (which they do a lot). But I don’t really like those potpourri type scents that a lot of people do. When we were house hunting, it seemed like everyone had potpourri out.

  47. Thinking about it. I realize I much prefer visiting houses that smell like cooking, even fish (yum) than potpourri or scented candle or perfume. Cooking smells so good

  48. My vote for scenting a house that’s for sale: bake bread, brownies, or cookies right before the showing.

  49. A “tip” I’ve heard many times on home shows is to use a bit of vanilla in the kitchen to make it smell like cookies were just baked.

    But what I really liked when we were looking at houses was when the realtor actually baked cookies and offered them to us.

  50. I do not like the smell of floral scents in my home. Always wonder what people are hiding. I like a 5% solution of bleach to clean hard surfaces. When I am cooking, I usually have a sink full of detergent water and bleach. I also bleach my sheets. I like the clean smell when I get into bed.
    When I am fooling around in the kitchen and have to wait on a cooking process, I take a cloth and dunk it in the bleach water and go around wiping down door handles, light switches, baseboards, etc.

  51. Unfortunately salmon is one of the smells that DH hates. He thinks the fish is rotting when it is really not so at all. We love fish and schedule fishy dinners when DH is travelling.
    He also hates the lingering odor of food in the house. This is an issue if you cook with spices. If the kitchen exhaust is not on the smell gets into the furnishings and clothes.

  52. I’d far rather have the scent of lovely salmon than the scent of fake vanilla or that godawful “holiday scent” they put in the candles

  53. I once had a patient who had just painted a downstairs closet because he was having an open house the next day. He thought he was having some kind of fume-poisoning, I think he was having some kind of panic attack. They were having an open house the next day and they had decided to paint it right before to cover up the smell of cat pee.

    So, I always am suspicious of fresh paint smell at open house time.

  54. I went to an open house once where the agent left the Sara Lee apple pie box right on the kitchen counter. I kind of laughed – I mean, nice idea to make the house smell like apple pie, but throw the box out.

    Food smells good when it is cooking, but it does not often smell good hours later when it lingers.

  55. The other power of essential oils is as a MLM endeavor. If you can have a few dozen people selling them for you, you can make bunches and bunches of money.

  56. “Food smells good when it is cooking, but it does not often smell good hours later when it lingers.”

    Unless its bacon or cookies

  57. Ivy, that kills off any fantasies of “I’d spend such dreamy hours here, lovingly crafting delicious food from scratch”!

  58. Houston, the unpleasantness of baking cooking begins as it’s sizzling, and filling the air with oil. The smell is fine; the greasiness isn’t.

  59. Is it cool to poach my own post?

    I’m trying to find things to put in the cinch sacks I’m giving my parents for their upcoming 1-week trip with a tour herd –I mean group. They have flat bed/seats in the plane, so will probably get a little kit with eye mask, ear plugs, socks, etc, and will be staying in the same room all week.
    Has anyone here used Salonpas pain relieving patches? They have camphor 1.2%, menthol 5.7%, methyl salicylate 6.3%, so won’t be as effective as meds. There aren’t any specific problems I’m thinking they’d be the solution for, just for any general aches that may come up along the way.
    What things do you (or elderly people you know) find helpful when traveling?

  60. SM, if they’re going to have that kind of seats on the plane, it’s likely that the airlines will provide them with little bags with the ear plugs, eye mask, and socks.

  61. “’We don’t fry food in the house, due to the lingering smell.’

    For the same reason, I make fried chicken once a year – usually around Labor Day – when it is a good temp to keep the windows open all day & night.”

    Well, I’d call that cutting off your nose to spite your face. Get a good exhaust fan!!

    I am in the camp that nothing smells better than cooking food, of just about any variety (except fish. and cabbage/sauerkraut). I love it when DH or the kids come home from something on Sunday afternoon and start raving about how good it smells — I’ve gone noseblind by that point and have no idea, but that’s when I know I’ve hit on something promising. I do agree that frying stuff leaves a sort of “stale oil” odor in the house, sometimes for a day or two, and like Finn says contributes to a sort of sticky-dirty coating. But, you know, it’s a kitchen — it’s supposed to be used. I don’t care so much about pristine. I figure by the time I sell, I’ll just pay some cleaning service ridiculous sums of money to deep-clean every nook and cranny. Or I’ll be dead and won’t care in which case it’s not my problem.

    I cannot stand BBB, Yankee Candle, and that ilk — those are the places that even walking by them in the mall is almost intolerable. Scented candles, air fresheners, most cleaning products, etc. all smell fake to me. The only scented candles I ever got were from Santa Fe — you bought a little pot and you stuck the candle in it and after it had been burning a bit it melted completely. I bought them in pinon and peach, and they were awesome — they actually smelled like what they were instead of ugly fake stuff. But then the place stopped selling them, so oh well.

    @SM: do they have a small first-aid kit? I know it’s ridiculously practical, but when we were in France last summer I had the hardest time finding band-aids that didn’t rip off immediately and allergy meds (apparently DS’s generic OTC allergy med is prescription-only over there — the pharmacist looked at me like I was a drug kingpin when I showed her the empty bottle). Or are there little niceties that they enjoy, like a special kind of tea that you could slip a couple of bags of into their pack, or a particular brand of a pre-packaged snack bar? And don’t forget earplugs — you never know when that hotel room is going to be next to an elevator or whatever.

  62. S&M,
    I buy small night lights in bulk from Amazon and keep several in my travel bag. When we travelled with MIL we gave her one for her hotel bathroom. Not having to fumble around for the light switch or flood the whole room with light at 2 am is nice.

  63. Thanks Laura. Lol at the all-too-familiar pharmacy scenario. Most of the few words of French I know are from a conversation with a pharmacist, trying to describe my symptoms. Earplugs, sleep masks, etc would be my go-tos, but they’ll probably get them on the plane. A cozy tea would be a nice add (& makes the snack look less like “Mom, don’t get all hangry on him”) ;)

  64. Ooh–battery-operated nightlight is good.

    Milo-new pseudonym? Scarlett wasn’t around yesterday either.

  65. Now I’m seeing ads for $120 “hand-poured” candles.

    There’s one born every minute.

  66. So where’d Milo go?

    I hope vacation. But, I fear he’s taking a break due to the political thread.

  67. Yesterday I got a catalog that said what I thought was Abercrombie & Fitch. I wondered why they sent me a catalog. It was actually Abercrombie & Kent with their luxury vacations. Very nice indeed.

  68. “I fear he’s taking a break due to the political thread.”

    Oh shoot. I thought things over there were civil. I mean I assumed this — I almost never read it, so I have no real knowledge. Should we reconsider trashing that thread if it’s causing people to drop off the main board? We started this to discuss innocuous things like parenting and laundry and vacations. It was never a political site. IMHO, it would be a shame to let an interloper discussion–the politics thread–ruin the greater purpose.

  69. Should we reconsider trashing that thread if it’s causing people to drop off the main board?

    I think we should. If Milo and Scarlett aren’t there then it’s just all of us agreeing which isn’t any fun.

  70. I thought things over there were civil.

    Depends on your definition of civil. No one calls the other posters c__t or f__kt__d like on most fora. But some of the comments are super vicious.

  71. Oh wow – I had no idea there were vicious comments over there. Also no idea both Milo and Scarlett had stopped posting there.

    I hereby vote we ditch that thread.

    All in favor?

    Anyone have an opposing view?

  72. Oh sorry – should have hereby MOVED to ditch, not hereby VOTED. It’s like I was raised in a barn, with no Robert’s Rules or anything!

  73. “It’s like I was raised in a barn, with no Robert’s Rules or anything!”

    LOL!

    I, too, support the motion!

  74. I don’t think it matters. The damage is done. No one is going to forget what people have written.

  75. “fear he’s taking a break due to the political thread.”

    This is why I almost never go over there. I’ve learned to avoid certain topics on this board. Idk if they’re the current topic on the politics page, but if they are, I don’t need to hear about it.

  76. “Should we reconsider trashing that thread if it’s causing people to drop off the main board?”

    Do we know of people who have dropped off the main board because of the politics thread? So far I just see speculation, but I’m interested in knowing more. IIRC in the past one or two have dropped off because of what they considered non-political offensive comments. At least one returned after a break.

    A few weeks ago our poll showed that 70% of us wanted to keep the political thread. That was anonymous, and this blog isn’t really a democracy, but there it is. (I didn’t vote in that poll.)

  77. I want to keep the political thread, and I want to keep it civil. I learn from other people’s viewpoints, even when I don’t agree with them. When Scarlett was attacked for posting historic data on recorded anti-Semitic actions in light of the reappearance of anti-Semitism once Trump took office, I was annoyed, but part of being a conservative on this blog is having thick skin.

  78. Scarlett has been attacked many times. I don’t blame her if she indeed did drop out of the political thread.

  79. When Scarlett was attacked for posting historic data on recorded anti-Semitic actions in light of the reappearance of anti-Semitism once Trump took office, I was annoyed, but part of being a conservative on this blog is having thick skin.

    Were you equally annoyed when Laura proved that the stats didn’t show what Scarlett wanted them to show.

    Scarlett gives as good as she gets.

  80. RMS, I was annoyed at the personal attack for posting data, and there was a subsequent apology. I understood both LfB’s and Scarlett’s points of view, and didn’t think the statistics proved the case one way or the other- statistics are rarely proof of any point of view. (And recall that to me “proof” is a logic and mathematical term, not a determination of probability.)

    I agreed with Scarlett’s overall point that the media chooses what to write about to fit a political narrative, and that anecdata are not data. I’ve seen more articles on people in rural areas in the NY Times in the past few weeks, for example, than I remember seeing in most comparable time periods during Obama’s terms in office.

  81. “Scarlett gives as good as she gets.”

    Yes she does! She often starts with the “giving” first. I didn’t see this specific exchange, but “he did it first” is an argument that deserves to be ridiculed, and I doubt she’d accept it from one of her sons. That doesn’t mean that ad hominem a are acceptable; they aren’t, but the way she constantly has her back up and bristles at people can invite attack. That said, she has been playing nicely on this side lately.

    WCE, whatever you think about the president, you can’t ignore him, because he has power (although perhaps not as much as he expected, checks and balances being a thing). How could that paper or any other simply skip over the many promises he made to people in rural areas, and the fact that they are the foundation of his support?

  82. “most comparable time periods during Obama’s terms in office”

    Remind me–when did Obama try to kill off multiple government departments and functions, refuse to accept that the prez must cooperate with other branches of go t, piss off our allies, try to break off agreements with other countries that have been decades in the making, and behave so petulantly and boorishly, while being so arrogant as not to prepare a damn thing that his own staff hated him and set up multiple alt accounts to get their grievances out? I must’ve missed something.

  83. statistics are rarely proof of any point of view. (And recall that to me “proof” is a logic and mathematical term, not a determination of probability.)

    Okay. But don’t be surprised if that comes back to bite you.

  84. “frying stuff leaves a sort of “stale oil” odor in the house, sometimes for a day or two, and like Finn says contributes to a sort of sticky-dirty coating. But, you know, it’s a kitchen — it’s supposed to be used.”

    At my IL’s, the problem was that the oil spread throughout not just the kitchen, but also the dining room, living room, and beyond.

  85. “anecdata are not data”

    I disagree. An anecdote is a datum, thus anecdata are data. The problem with drawing conclusions based on anecdata is that it’s frequently too small a set of data or is not representative of the entire population to which it belongs.

  86. Finn, you and I think the same way. The reason I made my point about “prove” is that I remembered the approximate size of LfB’s data set, and knew it was too small for a high-confidence statement, thus the answer to the T-test question was, “Cannot be determined from the given information.”

  87. “WCE, you’re defining “proof” for a philosopher? Is that called mathsplaining?”

    “Mathsplaining.” Hahahahahahahaha.

    “I remembered the approximate size of LfB’s data set” — hey, it was Scarlett’s data set! I was just picking it apart. :-)

Comments are closed.