Adult summer camp

by Grace aka costofcollege

Seattle adult summer camp provides escape from stress

What’s your fantasy adult summer camp?  Active or lazy?  Luxury or bare bones?  Hiking, crafts, swimming, boating, sports, performing arts, computers, science, language immersion, reading, yoga, boozy parties, or something else?  The sky’s the limit.  Describe what your ideal camp schedule might be. Or, would you rather skip camp all together?

Did you attend camp as a child?  Do your children attend camp?  Many people I’ve known have strong opinions on sending away their children to sleepaway camps that last six weeks or more.

Here’s a summer camp that seems geared toward a young party crowd, with DJ dance parties and alcohol all day long.

We went to an adult summer camp—and had a blast

82 thoughts on “Adult summer camp

  1. It seems like a lot of fun. As a huge fan of “resort friends” it seems way more social than a typical resort vacation. Which would be a big plus for me.

    As for my dream camp? Something like this:

    With a lot of scuba diving, jet skis, water skiing, etc.

  2. My ideal – hiking, reading, lots of sunshine, and good food that someone else cooks.

  3. It wouldn’t be my first choice, but I have been to spas and Club Med with communal activities and/or meals. I enjoyed meeting other people, and it was a good break from some typical vacations. I DO want to be able to go back to my own room at the end of the day.

    I couldn’t wait to leave camp last week when we went for visiting day. It’s too buggy and hot for me. DH can’t believe that I survived five years of sleep away camp. I really liked it, and I guess I didn’t mind most of the stuff that bothers me now.

    Sleep away camps used to be 8(!!) weeks when I was a kid. Many of these camps have been around for 40 or 50+ years and most have scaled back to 7 weeks. These are the old fashioned general camps in Poconos, Catskills, Berkshires and Maine. Some of the camps do offer half sessions to accommodate kids and families that want to attend for less time.

    I’m obviously a big fan of sleep away if the child wants to attend. I don’t think it’s for everyone, and I think it can actually be harmful if sleep away isn’t right for the child.

  4. I’d like an adult camp. Something in between being on the go every minute and spending all day in the hammock. Hiking, canoeing, kayaking would be fun. I am not good at regular competitive sports but I’ll join field day type games.
    My kids do day camps of various kinds. They have also taken field trips to various places as part of day camp. They enjoy that. I don’t know if they would do the sleep away camp for six weeks. It doesn’t seem to be a tradition in our area. Many kids do day camps of various types and families use the summer to visit out of town relatives.

  5. Ah. Mine will be identical to SSM, but will add learning archery, yoga and floating in a pool.

  6. My ideal – hiking, reading, lots of sunshine, and good food that someone else cooks.

    sounds good to me too

  7. Cost is a factor in signing kids up for camps, especially if families have a SAHP and no need for outside child care. So families try to balance cost with giving kids the camp experience.

  8. Interesting about “resort friends”. I don’t recall having that experience. The kids have made friends that seem to last a bit after the trip, but not long lasting friendships. Do your friendships last beyond the vacation? Do you plan subsequent trips with them?

    If I could get my husband or a girlfriend to go with me, I’d like to attend a ballroom dance camp. Something like this: http://stardustdance.com/weekends/september-2016-ballroom-dance-resort-weekend I’m reluctant to go by myself, but maybe I should try it.

  9. Our kids have attended local day camps and specialty sleepaway camps that lasted at most two weeks. Cost is a factor, and I remember blanching at the costs of some specialized camps suggested by other parents. In a way I regret not paying for those deluxe camps, but still not sure if they are worth it.

  10. Curiously enough, my Dad grew up in a working-middle class family, but spent every summer as a kid away at sleepaway camps like Lauren described, mostly up in the Catskills. They were heavily subsidized by the Church, and run by the Brothers. The idea was more about getting the ‘yutes’ out of the city’s hot, stagnant air where there’s nothing much for them to do but get into trouble; there was no modern alternative like supplementary academic enrichment classes exploring robotics or Colonial America. It was not associated with upper-class privilege, or at least not these camps.

    In my day, I might do a week of wilderness camp, which could include a day of canoeing, a day of rock climbing, a day of splunking, etc. Usually sleeping in cabins, run through the county organization. I enjoyed it, but I wouldn’t have wanted to go away for six or eight weeks.

  11. My maternity leave ran out about a month ago, right as summer was getting into full swing. The last week before I came back to work was really busy activity wise. DH had a sheepdog clinic, so he was going to a sheepdog camp. DS1 was going to a lego camp. DD and DS2 were going to a church camp. And mommy? Mommy, got to go to a work camp. :P Sleep away camps I went to as a child never lasted more than a week. As an adult, a camp-like environment holds no appeal to me.

  12. I would kill for an adult version of my kids summer camps. This year, DS1 did 3 weeks of a programming camp (where he is a CIT). Besides programming, they can do 3D modelling and animation and cool stuff like that. And the kids endlessly play Magic and Dominion. This is his first sleepaway camp, btw.
    DS2 did a advanced architecture camp, with two architects mentoring them and doing very serious critiques. On the last day, each kid had to present in front of all of us parents, doing design rationale and getting critqued by a visiting architect. He then did 2 weeks of the same programming camp, as a commuter (though he stays until 9 each night so we don’t see much of him).
    DD did horse camp for a week, then a week of programming camp with her brothers. Now she is at a girls day camp which does fairly serious kid STEM in the morning and traditional camp sports in the afternoon. It is one of these “girl empowerment” camps.

    For the next two weeks, the boys are doing chamber music camp and DD is doing a filmmaking and video camp.

    If I could go to camp, I would like to do the architecture camp, a photography camp, and maybe horse camp.

  13. I’d like to do a sports camp – softball/baseball, flag football, lacrosse etc. Throw in some mountain biking and some time to hang out in the pool. I definitely would want my own room and not a communal bunk.

    A lot of it depends on the introvert/extrovert factor. DW would want no part of it. The idea of “resort friends” is totally alien to her, in that setting she just wants to sit on the beach and read.

    I find the camp length thing fascinating. When I was growing up in NJ, a lot of kids went away for 4 or 8 weeks of camp. Out here, that is totally unheard of. Camps are 1 or 2 weeks. I have a friend in Westchester who was saying she was having a hard time finding a “short” camp for her son, meaning two weeks. That’s a long camp here.

  14. Curiously enough, my Dad grew up in a working-middle class family, but spent every summer as a kid away at sleepaway camps like Lauren described, mostly up in the Catskills. They were heavily subsidized by the Church, and run by the Brothers. The idea was more about getting the ‘yutes’ out of the city’s hot, stagnant air where there’s nothing much for them to do but get into trouble; there was no modern alternative like supplementary academic enrichment classes exploring robotics or Colonial America. It was not associated with upper-class privilege, or at least not these camps.

    That was my experience the one time I went to sleepaway camp for 4 weeks, although it was the Poconos. It definitely was a lower and middle class thing, not an upper class expensive thing.

  15. I never went to sleepaway camp, but I think that I would have enjoyed it then and now. I like communal living and activities. There is some family camp that some of our friends have done. My husband wants to go when the kids are a little older.

  16. Growing up, I never knew anyone who went to sleepaway camp. It was something you read about in youth novels about disaffected New England rich kids. Most kids went to a week of day camp. We always did the YMCA camp. A lot of other kids did vacation Bible camp. When I was in middle school, I always took some kind of “enriching” morning class at the Y or through the town rec program. I remember taking typing, and doing batik, and some other art class. Later, I used summer for summer school, to make up credits that were missing because of my very spotty 3 high schools in 3 years experience.

  17. I’ve toyed with the idea of a meditation/yoga camp, just for the experience to unplug and experience something totally different. I have a friend who goes a couple of times a year and swears by them. But she does yoga regularly.

  18. Many of the camps started for the reason that Milo described in his posts. My mother was able to secure scholarships and very reduced rates for us to attend all summer.

    There are still camps run by plenty of different religious organizations and many do offer reduced rates.

    Our private camp runs a camp for a week after the kids leave. It’s free, but the camp donates the camp and a lot of the staff volunteer to work that extra week. They have fundraising during the year to pay for any additional expenses. The idea is just to get kids out of the city for at least a week.

  19. Denver Dad, there are tons of 2 week and even 1 week camps here in Westchester but they are day camps. The programming camp, though, is a sleepaway, and goes week by week.

  20. I did a YMCA sleep away camp for two weeks a couple of summers, and my DH used to go to church camp. I know I enjoyed it well enough at the time, but it didn’t generate any great long-lasting memories. My daughter went to a sleep away horse camp for a couple of weeks, but didn’t have a desire to go back. My son never expressed an interest.

    Adult camp doesn’t hold much appeal to me. I enjoy being social for a while, but not for a whole week. Ideal time off for me involves a mix of active time and downtime for reading, but a segment of that time has to be alone and quiet.

  21. Ashoken does adult music camps, and is very famous for them. The tune Ashoken Farewell, which was the theme song in that Ken Burns Civil War documentary, was about one of those camps. I have always wanted to do Southern Week, but don’t want to be away from the family in the summer.

  22. The mention of girls camp and yoga reminded me that a friend got her daughter into a new charter school in LA that is a girls middle school that will start every day with yoga. The uniform is yoga pants and school t-shirt. Given my experience that middle school is where all the nastiness begins, I think that is a great idea. I would have definitely sent my child to a school like that.

  23. There’s yoga pants and there’s yoga pants. Funny, for a while they were banned at our high school, unless if worn with a tunic top.

  24. MM – are you going to see your children this summer? That’s a lot of camps – even if day camps. And I’m also curious on the cost, but I’m afraid to ask… and it seems impolite.

    My Girl Scout Council did summer-long sleep away camps. You could go in 1 week increments. Most people went in 2 week increments, and those who stayed a month or the whole summer went home for the weekend ever 2 weeks.

    I like that adult summer camp. I sooo need that this summer. CoC’s camp looks fun! My swing group attends a similar one in NH. A lot of single dancers go and have a wonderful time. I have not had the courage to go to one of those camps – dancing to me is supposed to be fun and some of the dancers and instructors take things a little too seriously for my taste.

    Right now we go to Camp Grandma which is also the same as Daycare Grandma, so no change in schedule or price! :) Who knows what we’ll do with DS when he gets old enough to express interest in something other cheerios.

    Since the house is getting painted, Camp Grandma includes a leisurely walk in the mall, playtime outside in the pool with the dog, and possibly a leisurely walk around the neighborhood if it’s not too gross out.

  25. Rhode – the chamber music camp is out at noon, and the arts and horse camps are out at 3. The programming camp is sleepaway or quasi sleepaway. It is also expensive which is why we limit it, otherwise all 3 kids would be there all summer. For them, it is like finding their tribe. Even DD has announced that she only wants to go there next year.

    Because both myself and my husband are working in the summer, we need something for the kids to do. The older two could certainly just stay at home, but they get bored and start fighting. ALl their friends are in programs, so there is no one to hang out with. DD needs childcare in the summer; otherwise I couldn’t get anything done.

  26. Next two weeks are going to be rough for me because I have to transport a string bass and two kids to chamber music camp at 9, and then pick them up at noon. In the preceding years, it was only DS1 and his violin, so he walked to the camp. But you can’t walk a string bass a mile to camp. I also have to pick up DD at 3:30 from her camp. My chair is already PO’ed at me because he wants to have intensive lab planning meetings over the next 2 weeks and I had to tell him I can’t be on campus with that pickup schedule.

  27. Yikes! That’s quite a week. It’s totally understandable to have the kids in those camps, and the half or 3/4 days means you see your kids. But wow. that’s a lot to juggle. I don’t know how you do that AND be productive at work. At least you have tenure, right? Chair can’t get too upset… :) good luck!

  28. Mooshi – thanks for mentioning the speciality STEM camps. I was on the lookout for those and I see that there is a camp available in my area. Will sign up the kids next year.

    @Rhode – for me, the Y is the a good option as their drop off and pick up times run from 7.00 am to 6 pm. However, speciality camps like music/dance and STEM camp have later drop off and earlier pick up times, so as Mooshi mentioned scheduling becomes tricky.

  29. The adult camps sound fun. Put me down for yoga, hiking, and eating food that someone else prepares.

  30. I went to an all girls sleepaway camp (1 month, TX Hill Country) when I was a kid (and a few years as counselor) and LOVED it. Still friends with people I knew there. They host alumnae weekends every few years and I gone and had a blast. Great to catch up with people you haven’t seen since you were kids/teens, do activities at your own pace, etc. Admittedly, the camp has a bit of a cult-like following among alumnae. I have a few friends who have even leveraged the relationships there in their careers (me, not so much). Going to camp every summer makes me prefer activity spa/resorts for vacations. I love going to places where I can hike, take classes, swim, and do other activities rather than sit on a beach or do marathon sight-seeing.

  31. Camp is EXPENSIVE. The speciality sleep away camps are like $2,500 for two weeks! The day camps here (DC) are more like $500 for a week. Most of the Jewish families around here send their kids away for 8 weeks. I get that it is nice to be child free, but I don’t want to be THAT child free. The pace of summer allows me and them to really enjoy each other more as long as we can keep them busy during the day. I’m rested, they’re rested. Its nice.

  32. Mooshi, if you want grown up camp, try Elderhostel. They have all kinds of educational trips/camps.

  33. We went to deer valley camp in Pa a few years ago, on the suggestion from someone here. It is (as far as I can tell) the only dedicated family y camp in the country. That means the cabins are family sized and there is a robust children’s program. When the kids are finding slamanders, there are sailing lessons for adults. Not cheap – about 3k for a week for us. We went for a long weekend, partly in order to see some friends that came too. We keep thinking of returning, but the week long sessions fill up by January, so each time we tried, we were too late to gets spots for the summer. The place has quite a following. We went to a local y family weekend. It was kind of a bust – the kids had fun, but putting small kids to bed in an open cabin with a dozen other people was a nightmare. The activities were nice, but we had to continually supervise the kids, which meant no time to relax or do anything that was challenging or interesting. Maybe better if they were older.

  34. Do your friendships last beyond the vacation? Do you plan subsequent trips with them?

    Not in my experience. You just hang out in the pool, go to dinner, share you life story, that sort of thing. It’s similar to what happens at a hotel bar. People want to talk, so if you listen you’ll hear the story of your life.

    As a recovering aspie, it really is quite fascinating. If you just let it happen, you’ll find tons of people who just want to talk.

  35. Daughter went to a week of y camp last year and loved it – she’ll do that again. People think we are crazy for sending her to sleep away camp at such a young age (6 last year). Not the culture on the west coast at all. A few camps run 3-4 weeks here (for 3-5k), but prolonged summer camp is definitely a northeast phenomenon.

  36. Milo,

    With the charters are you just assigned a boat with a random group of people?

    On of my friends is desperate to charter one of those boats. But, as you found out with your guys weekend, it’s impossible to arrange.

  37. “With the charters are you just assigned a boat with a random group of people?”

    No, those boats aren’t big enough. You’re getting your own boat, for whatever group you bring. It’s like renting a beach house or condo.

  38. I want to do a summer camp in New Zealand, skiing.

    Or a camp during New Zealand’s summer, but in the northern hemisphere, skiing.

  39. Denver Dad, there are tons of 2 week and even 1 week camps here in Westchester but they are day camps. The programming camp, though, is a sleepaway, and goes week by week.

    She wanted a sleepaway camp for 2 weeks. I think she eventually found one, but apparently the camps in the northeast are still mostly set up for 4 or 8 weeks.

  40. Hmm, I guess in a way I’ve done the adult camp thing. Before kids, I belonged to a ski club that took a week-long trip each year, and I went on many of those, which were pretty close to a week-long sleepover ski camp.

    The trips in which our club took over a large part of a condo building (or, in one case, the entire condo complex) were more like sleepover camps than the ones in which we stayed in hotels.

  41. I think over time many sleepaway camps have begun to offer shorter versions. Back when I was looking for my kids about ten years ago, I remember finding more 6-week options when I was only interested in 1-2 weeks. From what I’ve seen, the 6-8 week camps are a tradition among some groups. If the parents went and have fond memories, they want their kids to have the same experience. Some parents I’ve known are very judgy about this, saying they can’t imagine how that could be good for children. Just like as in many other parenting practices, they think their way is the right way.

  42. Some parents I’ve known are very judgy about this, saying they can’t imagine how that could be good for children.

    I’d be curious to conduct a study where random groups of totebag kids are sent off to 8 weeks of camp at various ages. I certainly know tons of families where kids have shut down freshman year of college because of homesickness, the first taste of freedom, etc. I’d be curious to see if kids who go to camp are more successful, equally successful or less successful than the control group.

  43. Coc – the sleep away camps have been going on for 40/50 years now, and there are adults who went and turned out fine. Those kids who didn’t enjoy it, didn’t return presumably, so it wasn’t as if kids were being forced to go.
    I told my parents that I was not going to boarding school. We had visited boarding schools in pretty locales but I wasn’t sold and didn’t go.

  44. I would have hated an 8-week camp. I hated the 2-week camp I went to. I was very homesick. Also, Girl Scout camps in those days were very bare-bones and it sucked. I’ve complained about it before. But anyway, to Rhett’s point, I was extremely homesick for my first month or two in college, but I could at least look back and remind myself that it passes eventually.

  45. I went to algebra camp when I was 12 – that was my first sleepaway experience and it was not pretty. I had a roommate who was even weirder than I was and called home collect on a pay phone 2x/day, crying. I did really like the algebra part! ;) Then when I was in HS I went to choir camp and interned at a (day) theatre camp, and after junior and senior year I went to choir camp in England, which was the BEST THING EVER. I would totally have done that for 6-8 weeks if it was available!

    Around here most kids do camp for part of the summer (few weeks). In our old town, there was a clear religious divide between the people who did the traditional sleepaway camps vs the people who did more themed and day camps.

  46. Oh, summer camp for adults – I would like almost anything at this point if it meant I got to be away from the kids and sleep in and take naps. :)

  47. L – how are things at the new place ? Do your kids have other kids to play with or are houses further apart and more isolated ?

  48. My kids are past the summer camp stage, but I remember the times when I had to book them every week in some sort of camp. It was very expensive, but for the most part, they seemed to have fun. Now that they can take care of themselves, they are having the semi-lazy summers that I always wanted them to have.

  49. I would HATE adult camp. On vacation I want to spend time with my family or my friends. I do enough business travel that I spend plenty of time with work folks or clients eating meals or having cocktails or socializing at a work event and hearing their random life stories. On my time off, I want to either be with my spouse, my children, my siblings or my girlfriends. No random strangers and no forced activities. Hiking, skiing, cycling, YES……forced interactions with strangers on vacation, NO.

  50. Here lots of kids do 4-6 week sleep away camps in Colorado or Michigan. My kids did 2-3 week sleep away camps, although in high school the camps were on college campuses and were academic.
    We spend some of each summer at a Chautauqua where there are optional organized activities, themed lectures and entertainment. It’s kind of a family camp for nerds.
    Also there is a great YMCA family camp in Estes Park Colorado. Very popular.

  51. Any favorite restaurants in St Louis? Wedding is near Wash U, but we will have a car.

  52. Group tours are only like camp in that you have to hang out with strangers and adhere more or less to an organized schedule, and that if the tour is remote enough you are trapped there. I hated camp. Having to smile and not cry when practical jokes were played on you. Bugs, bugs and more bugs. Being the worst at almost everything. And several failures by adults to protect me at 12 leading me to blame myself. And being sent back for 4 years, luckily only for 2 weeks. Kids couldn’t just tell their mom, I don’t want to go.

  53. We haven’t gone camping, partly because DH doesn’t even like being in our backyard, and partly because we need to be within a few minutes of ambulance service with DD.

    In my imaginary world, we would go to a Y family camp and enjoy it. But in real life, the rest of my family would complain endlessly about the mattresses, bathroom facilities, food, and mosquitoes, and the two year old would whine about the lack of wifi for his iPad :)

  54. One of my favorite things about camping west of the Cascades is that there are almost no bugs. To this river bottom girl, that’s practically miraculous.

    It’s hard to lead a balanced life in any particular life stage. When I moved for engineering jobs in college and didn’t know anyone, I was too lonely. Now, I care for four children and struggle to balance work/family, and I could use some time alone. When I am old, I will likely be lonely again.

  55. I noticed there were no bugs in Las Vegas. We spent one day at the hotel pool surrounded by flowers, and there wasn’t even a bee, or ant etc.

  56. I think going to sleepaway camp definitely helped me during my first year of college (and with later roommates). I had lived in a communal space with 25 other people, so knew I had to keep my stuff in my area (I’m a slob) and respect others space and things. Also, no issues with homesickness (ever), but that may just be my personality. I also had a close in age sister, so was familiar with sharing. I consider being able to share/cohabitate peacefully a very important life skill. Unfortunately, I think this may be lacking in the younger generations due to increasing affluence (do any kids ever share rooms now??) and helicopter parenting.

  57. “Unfortunately, I think this may be lacking in the younger generations due to increasing affluence (do any kids ever share rooms now??)”

    I think a lot of totebaggers’ kids don’t share rooms because a lot of totebaggers only have one or two kids.

  58. Seems awesome, but as complicated to get into as Stanford. It has an “application process” and a “Waitlist”. And a $7k price tag for 5 people for a week. Love the idea, but will go with the less complicated application for the Disney Cruise.

  59. @L – I don’t have any great St. Louis restaurants but if you are there with kids do any ages go to the City Museum post haste! It is our family’s favorite destination. Kids like it better than Disney. You can check out the website but it is like Willy Wonka and Tim Burton made a museum/playground. There are tunnels and slides 3 stories high. Everything is made of reclaimed materials, there is art and surprises around every corner! There is a giant praying mantis and a Ferris wheel and a school bus on the roof except the bus is halfway off the roof. There is an airplane 4 stories up on the playground but you have to climb stairs and tunnels of rebar to get there. I could literally go on and on… We get there at opening and stay till close every time. Every member of th family will have a great time.

  60. ATM- if your reading you were right about the neighborhood in Brooklyn. Very well lit and tins of people even at midnight. Never felt unsafe. Thanks for the advice!! We took public transit (bus, walking, train, walking).

    NY really doesn’t sleep. The amount of people and kids all over the place at midnight was amazing. The kids amazed me. I was dragging and some toddlers were still going strong.

  61. Rhode, what did you think of the place? We attended a wedding last year at Bell House. It was my first time there, and I was also surprised at how much the neighborhood has changed.

  62. Ada, what’s complicated about it? You fill out a one page application and send it in. But there are a ton of other things I’d rather do for that kind of money.

  63. Louise – we haven’t met any kids our kids’ age yet. The next door neighbor kids are teenagers. Houses are also very far apart. But to be fair, we never met any kids our kids’ age in our previous neighborhood until they started school – there weren’t any kids out and about, etc.

  64. L – then not too different and school I don’t think will be an issue since they young still.
    My kids were similar ages when we moved and they have no recollection of our previous house. The neighborhood we landed in, turned out to have families with kids and a few more with kids moved in after us. Kids are always about the place.

  65. Lauren- I liked the Bell House. It’s a pretty cool venue. The decor is funky! What’s with the Bison over the stage? Though it made me want to hit up the Bidon Brewery next door. But it was closed. Sad.

    We had SRO tickets but were no more than 20 feet from the stage. I think we’d go back there. The neighborhood is not sketchy at all. I felt completely safe even with the pan handlers. Though it takes 1.5 hours on public transit to get there from NJ… 3 hours of travel for a 1.5 hour show.

  66. @DenverDad – This seems complicated. I am not looking for a vacation where I might need to apply several years in a row and “be persistent” with my application.

    Applications postmarked by January 4, 2016 are sorted and ranked based on the number of consecutive application years.
    The more years one consecutively applies to attend Camp, the higher one’s ranking.
    If you skip an application cycle, you lose your accrued seniority based upon the number of consecutive years you had previously applied.
    Applications are ranked within each group by random computer-generated lottery numbers. This lottery determines your rank on the waitlist.

    The Stop-Out Program allows up to 42 current reservation holders the opportunity to take a one-year leave of absence. In turn, this opportunity provides a chance for the equivalent number of applicants on the waitlist to make a one-year visit to Camp. When assigned to these one-year vacancies, “fill-in” families do not lose their ranking on the waitlist for that year. Please indicate your level of interest for fill-in (also known as “one-year visit”) possibilities on your application.

    If an applicant has accrued four flexibility credits over years of consecutive application and has not yet been offered a reservation, an accommodation will be made.
    Be persistent with your application! It may take a couple of years to secure a spot at Camp.

  67. Can one of you financial wizzes help me decide if I should buy a house in one year or two? Looking at income and expenses I can save $24K per year. Question is how to divide that. I’d like to retire in 15 years. Retirement accounts have $16K. Other savings / rainy day fund = $9K. House price will be approx $250K, so a down payment of 10% is one years savings–unless I put some of my annual savings into my retirement account. I would strongly prefer to buy sooner, so my nearly-HS-age son has more time and stability there.

  68. Ada, but you don’t have to think about any of that. You just send in your application and wait to see if you’re accepted or not.

  69. Aspiring – what is the rental market like where you live? Retirement in 15 years is very ambitious if you only have $16k right now.

  70. Anon, thanks for replying.
    I’ve been renting, but want my child to have more stability than that, also want to own my home when I retire. I don’t know for sure of course when I can retire.

    Main thing I need to know right now is how the two values compare–$1K invested every month this year vs buying the house one year earlier. I know that many of the people around here have memorized handy tricks to quickly calculate time value of money, so was hoping someone would help me out.

  71. Aspiring– it’s hard to say without more information.

    E.g., how do your current housing costs compare with your housing costs if you buy? What sort of retirement cash flow will you have– will you have any income other than from your savings and SS? Will you have a solid 35 years of contributing to SS?

    And of course, college costs could also put a big crimp in your cash flow.

    One thing that could help you is if your expenses will go down when your son gets out of college, especially if he lives at home and pays his share of housing and living expenses.

  72. Finn, thanks! I didn’t think people were still looking at this page, so I reposted on today’s topic. Please come join in over there. I will have twenty years SS by the time I hope to retire. College expenses may be a factor, but he will probably live at home for the first few years and receive scholarship money, and eventually there will be an inheritance, which I could put towards tuition if need be

  73. If I could go to a summer camp for adults, I’d want someone to come up with a schedule that let me exercise and have fun but also made room for naps when I needed them. Swimming, sailing, canoeing, hiking, playing under waterfalls, making our own campsites, cooking over a fire, delicious food, yoga, volleyball and flag football or ultimate frisbee would all be on the agenda. Horses and bikes would be available for those who wanted to ride. It would be exhilarating, tiring, and refreshing all at once, and there would be hot tubs and a phalanx of masseurs and masseuses on hand.
    Even better–I’d go with a guy I was really in love with, who loved me deeply, and we’d have hot sex every night.
    Ah, dreaming!

  74. Just noticed the date on that last, global map. This one is more recent, but doesn’t have data for all countries. Wish I could figure out how to get the pix to just show up instead people needing to click through.
    https://goo.gl/images/k8NGu4

Comments are closed.