Old clothes

by Grace aka costofcollege

What’s the oldest piece of clothing you own?

Style blogger Angie recently wrote about the golden oldie items in her closet.

In an era of throwaway fashion and where purging our closets to minimal status is popular, it makes me feel GREAT that I’ve had these pieces for years and am still wearing them with a happy heart….

You’ve probably heard the saying, “I’ve got ties older than you”.  I’m sure I have clothes older than some of you.  I got this faded hoodie about 35 years ago on my first visit to Yellowstone.  (That was before they were called “hoodies”.)

201511.eMiscNovPhotos2LF

Wedding gowns, special baby outfits, and team jerseys are some types of clothing often saved for sentimental reasons.  Sturdy jeans and classic suits are saved for continual wearing.

What old clothes do you own?  Do you still wear them?  Are you an investment shopper, or more likely to buy the latest styles?  Have you found yourself resurrecting old clothes that have been put away for a while?  Do you keep some old clothes for sentimental reasons?  Do you ever buy vintage clothing?  Do old clothes make you feel old?  Do you periodically clean out your closet?  Maybe it’s as simple as “when in doubt, throw it out”?

83 thoughts on “Old clothes

  1. The oldest thing I own is a black, oversized Guiness sweatshirt that my parents bought for my brother when they went to Ireland in around 1985. I found it last winter and sent a pic to my brother, who said he had never seen the shirt. That reminded me that I had generously offered to deliver it to my brother where we were both attending school. Clearly, I decided to just keep it for myself. On the positive side, it wouldn’t still be around if I had actually given it to him.

    I try to buy decent quality stuff that I can keep for years. I have upper limits on what I’ll spend because I keep thinking that any minute I’m going to drop a size or two, so don’t want to waste money on clothes that will be too big in a month.

  2. I have a Levis denim jacket from HS. I don’t wear it much, but it the jacket that is sold today is very similar.

    I own a couple of oversized college sweatshirts. I never wear them, but I don’t want to throw out.

  3. The oldest item of clothing I own is a t-shirt with the names of all the students in my elementary school at the time. I loved wearing it to bed when I was pregnant because it was huge and really soft (even though I bought it as a ten year old so not sure why so big). I wore a J.Crew skirt the other day that I’ve had for about 15 years and I got a ton of compliments. I hadn’t worn it in a few years but it was bought back when J.Crew had better quality so it’s held up remarkably well.

  4. I have a pair of Ann Taylor dressy shoes and a simple black Talbots sweater that I bought while in graduate school 15+ years ago. The shoes were $100 and the sweater was on sale for $40 and I remember agonizing over whether or not to ‘splurge’ on them. Both have held up beautifully.

  5. I have a long sleeve t-shirt from my HS tennis team, so that is over 20 years old. I also have a demin jacket from the Gap from the 90’s that I recently started wearing again over dresses in the summer in the office. Both are roomy enough that they fit even though they were purchased when I was thinner.

  6. I still have one of the nicest gifts my mother ever gave me. I don’t wear it, but it remains a treasure. When I was 15 she had a local weaver make me a wool serape in purple and blue with an op art dizzying pattern. I loved it, but what makes it special is that it was one of the few times she really saw me as myself, not as the someone else she generally wanted me to be.

    As for clothes still in the rotation, I have a 1990 black on black satin polka dot pair of palazzo pants with loose jacket (what used to be called evening pajamas – see coco chanel in the 30s, below). I wore them last month to the opera.

    The only vintage garments I buy are cotton knee length Hawaiian muumuu house dresses with an inseam pocket. Most of them were purchased in the 60s 70s either on vacation or as gifts, so they sat unused and now turn up on ebay from estate sales.

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/245861255/vintage-mumu-ui-maikai-hawaiian-shift?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=ui%20maikai&ref=sr_gallery_30

  7. Huge men’s tank tops with the Cal logo on them. They’re very frayed. Used them as sleepwear. I have purged almost everything from my younger days. I tend to collect a shirt or sweater from serious ex-boyfriends so I have a couple of really old sweaters in a drawer in the guest room.

  8. I have a pair of gym shorts from Junior High in the 60s. They still fit in the waist, but as was the style then, they are short and look silly on me.

  9. I have a pair of winter boots that I bough in Austria 15 years ago that I still wear when walking the dog in the snow. Those would be the oldest item.

  10. I have some clothes my mom made for me as a kid (so 40 years old or so), a windbreaker from HS and some clothes of my Dad’s that remind me of him – shirt and a hat. Who knows when my dad bought those clothes.

  11. I have a high school letter jacket from 1984. I have a belt from 1991 that has held up well. Most of my other items I wear until they wear out. By “wear out,” I mean my wife throws them away when I am out of the house for some reason.

  12. I have the shirt my mom was wearing when she met my dad. I forget how it ended up with me but if I return it to her she’ll purge it — I’m either more sentimental or more of a pack rat — so I’m hanging on to it. I have the usual assortment of college and HS tshirts with memories attached. Oldest stuff I wear is probably some cold-weather stuff from college. Oldest stuff I wear routinely, some of my jackets have got to be 20 years old.

  13. Of course, my husband still keeps his full dress uniform from 1966. And to Anon 10:58, we apply the same definition of wear out for men’s clothes. Some go to goodwill, some go to the trash and some to the ragpile.

  14. As far as regular use items, I have a t-shirt in the rotation that commemorates my alma mater’s basketball championship in 1995.
    The oldest things I own are two perfectly good down sleeping bags I bought from the REI in Berkeley in 1978 & 1979. I also have a down jacket (now called puffy?) from the same era. All do their intended jobs today.
    And, yes, I probably have neckties that are indeed older than some of you.

  15. I have a Larry Levine black wool coat that I bought in 1988 or so and that I wore every winter for at least ten years when I commuted into the city. It was my first really warm dress coat, and it has held up surprisingly well. I had the lining replaced at one point. At the time I bought it, I didn’t know it would be an investment purchase. I have another more luxurious alpaca scrumptiously warm coat that I bought about 15 years ago, but it has huge shoulder pads so I don’t wear it often. Actually, i usually only wear about 2 or 3 coats every winter even though I have many more in my closet. I find it hard to get rid of coats, and I have to force myself into not buying a new one every year. I recently purged, but I need to get rid of more of them.

    Well, PTM, I’m impressed that you still fit in to junior high shorts. You must also have some old suits hanging around.

  16. I have some snow boots from 1995, DH has the shirt he wore when our oldest was born. I have given up trying to purge that shirt even though he has worn it into rag status. He is much more sentimental about clothes/furniture than I am. I find it emotionally exhausting to throw things away, but I feel better with less clutter. I often bring to mind Rhett’s comment about throwing away the Christmas tree, decorations and all.

  17. “Some go to goodwill, some go to the trash and some to the ragpile.”

    Sometimes it’s hard to decide what should get trashed and what should be donated. Some clothes donations are measured by the pound and go overseas somewhere, IIRC. Also, I sometimes wonder if my best donated items ever make it to the intended beneficiaries or if the workers cherry pick some of the best items.

  18. I donate everything to Goodwill. If they don’t want it, they’ll sell it to textile recyclers, who will make it into things like carpet padding.

  19. CofC, the waist is elastic. Of course being 7th grade gym clothes, they had to be marked with your name. If I look I can still see “Teen Mom” in very faded green magic marker.

    Yeah. I have lots of suits. Skinny suits, really fat suits and everything in between. I also have my interviewing suit (heavy wool) that I bought to interview second year of law school. That one actually fits– at least as well as it ever did.

  20. I still wear two Talbots dresses from 1997. I bought them to camouflage my first trimester with DS so they were loose back then. They fit now.

  21. I still have tee shirts from college, and my college reunion jacket in case I ever go back to a reunion.

    One of my old fogey rants is the terrible fabric used in clothes in the last 5-10 years, and especially in the last 5 years: cotton like tissue paper, mixed with polyester and “microfiber.” I’m keeping a few old tee shirts so that I don’t have to wear a double layer to the gym in order to preserve some semblance of modesty.

    Is it just the increase in cotton prices, or what?

  22. Hmm. Oldest is probably a kilt in my family tartan that I got in Scotland after HS graduation in 1984. But that’s not really “clothes.” No, wait — oldest has to be my HS letter jacket, which DD has now absconded with (as she now goes to the same HS). I think I still have my 1986 BBall championship t-shirt, and I may have the infamous Batman freshman dorm t-shirt. I also have an Ultraman t-shirt that I have been using as gym-wear off and on since, I think, college. And a floppy O’s hat from one of those floppy hat nights way back when — I wear it to garden in, as it is my only hat with a brim.

    Work clothes, styles have just changed too much — I held on to some suits for @15 years until I lost weight, and then when they fit again, they were completely out of style.

    I do hang on to coats, though. I have one that I call my Monkees coat that I have had for maybe 20 years — dark brown corduroy, double-breasted, with brass buttons and a belt made out of the coat fabric. It has lost so many buttons that I can’t button it any more, but I just love it and can’t bring myself to throw it out.

    I am not a shopper and tend to hang on to stuff through lethargy vs. some intentional plan. But most of that goes every 10 years or so when I go on a spree. The stuff that makes it forever is the sentimental attachment stuff (my Haloti Ngata jersey isn’t going anywhere, even though he did).

  23. I have two dresses my aunt had in the 1950’s. At the times in my life I have been that size I wear one of them fairly often. The other is not quite my colors, but is my daughter’s and she can’t wait until she can wear it. I like the style so much, I had a tailor make me a copy using a fabric that is much more flattering.

    I have a jacket, a letter jacket, and a few t’shirts from HS events. I do still have an outfit I wore as a baby and put on my kids just for the picture to send to the aunt to gave it to my mom. I have a gown I wore as a toddler. I have a couple of scarves that were my mom’s that still make their way through the rotation. Otherwise, the oldest thing is a london fog trench coat.

  24. Oh, I do have a wool dress coat from J Crew that is 15 years old or more. I’ve had the lining replaced once, but the wool exterior is still in very good condition even with a decent amount of wear.

  25. I have a pair of Capezio character shoes from high school.

    I have kept my wedding dress.

    We just purged most of DS’s old clothes except for a few sentimental items.

  26. I love purging so I don’t have too many items from earlier days. I’ve been gleefully giving my little sister all my girl baby clothes and it’s driving me a little nuts to keep all of the boy stuff in the event she has another baby (and it’s a boy) or my other sister has a baby boy (have the room in my closet, but hate seeing all of those boxes). But they’re nice clothes so I keep them just in case. And I did get rid of all of my girl baby clothes after I found out DS was a boy and then we ended up having our third, so it has been a bit of a bummer to have to buy them all over again.

  27. I just caught the train in Harlem and I noticed all of the coolers said we accept SNAP. I never noticed this until our recent discussion.

    I realized that my oldest tee is from the Simon and Garfunkel concert in Central Park. 1981. My father took us, and I just can’t picture it happening now. I would never take young kids to something like that with no bathrooms.

  28. I have a ghastly t-shirt from Spring Break ’90 that says “Drink ’till she’s cute.” How I ever thought that was funny is beyond me now.

    Wedding dress and DH and I both have the outfits we were wearing the night we met.

  29. I have a gorgeous vintage black dress from the 40s, with lots great detail work, that I bought about 20 years ago. But I’m having to pass it down to my daughter as my waist has thickened too much since then, and it is in any case a style that looks young to my eye.

  30. Similar to this, except black with cut-out and fabric strip detailing on the sleeves and hem and a neckline around the collarbone without the Peter Pan collar:

  31. Thanks for posting the photo, HM.

    “I have two dresses my aunt had in the 1950’s” — I’m curious what style, especially since your daughter wants to wear them. I love styles from the 40s and 50s.

    I have a mink stole that handed down from my MIL from her mother. It probably dates from the early 50s. My mother owned one also, and my sister ended up with it. I have worn mine a few times with cocktail attire. Do any of you remember when many young 20s/30s women wore full length fur coats back in the 90s? Maybe that was just a NY thing.

  32. I have a dress winter coat from when I was about 4 that my girls now wear. When my mom bought it back in the early 80s she recalls paying a small fortune, more money than she had ever spent on clothing for her kids. Once I outgrew it she saved it, and one day it showed up at my house ready for my own 4 year old to wear. It is in great condition, and the style looks like it came from Hanna Andersen. In my own closet, I have a few JCrew sweaters that are probably 15 years old (back when they made long lasting quality).

  33. I have about three formal dresses, I wore as a guest to weddings. They could work as prom dresses if my DD wants them. My wedding dress is preserved in a box. DD can have that too. I have a couple of college T shirts. All these are now 15-20 years old. The rest of my clothes are only worthy of periodic purges. I have become more careful about buying cool weather jackets. We don’t get enough use out of them here but they are tempting to buy. Then after 2-3 years they feel old but it is hard to get rid of them.

  34. When DS was born, my mom gave me my favorite jacket from my small kid days. I had taken great care of it and it was still in great shape. DS wore it 4 or 5 times before he outgrew it.

    Like PTM, I still have the suit I bought in college for job interviews. Unlike PTM, it no longer fits me, but it fits DS great, and he uses it regularly for his debate tournaments. He likes how it looks (sans the vest), and I think he looks great in it (better, IMO, than most of the other debaters, but not as good as a few with what looks like suits tailored for them), although DW does not agree.

    I also still have a tux I bought to MC a friend’s wedding. DS has been using that regularly too, and I think he looks great in that too. DS likes that it is different than the other guys in orchestra (and IMO much more elegant), but DW again disagrees.

  35. DW has a trunk of heirloom clothes from her mom. I think it includes her wedding dress. DW also still has her wedding dress. I’m not sure what she’ll end up doing with them, although I’d guess they will end up as part of the stuff our kids will need to deal with when we’re dead.

  36. Ooh, the vintage discussion made me realize I still have my grandma’s wedding dress — I wore it to my HS prom. It was ivory and very ’30s/streamlined, not froofy/frilly. Just gorgeous.

    I also have the bridesmaid’s dress I wore to my former college roommate’s wedding when I was in law school — dark blue jacquard, very flattering cut, not remotely froofy.

  37. Hijack, tomorrow we are going to thanksgiving dinner with DH’s family. We have been estranged for many years, but his mother invited us to thanksgiving, for the first time in 15-20 years. My kids don’t know most of their relatives, although my older daughter is friends with her same age cousin. DH left the family business, and they had no use for him if he wouldn’t work for them. Any advice on….safe conversational topics, signs to just leave? Anyone else done something like this?

  38. Back OT, I used to ski a lot back before kids, and I still have all my ski clothes, including a bunch from when neon colors first came out. Those clothes still fit me, and clothes also fit DS now, so now that we’ve started skiing as a family, those clothes are getting use again. And it’s been long enough that I can wear the neon– DD has friends (and some of their sibs) who love the neon colors and wear them a lot.

  39. @Murphy — here is my survival skill for uncomfortable situations: turn it into a game between you and your DH (and whichever kids are old enough not to spill the beans). Think back to famous family sayings, assign a few to each of you, and play bingo (winner = whoever hears all of them first). Or come up with an over/under over when Aunt Sally does or says X. Etc. etc. etc.

    I find this useful in uncomfortable social situations because it helps remove me from the emotional triggers — it’s almost like being an anthropologist and watching a foreign tribe and observing their patterns and habits.

    Other than that, deep breaths, stock turn-the-conversation phrases (“Mmm-hmm, that’s interesting — but enough about me, are you still a Royals’ fan?”), and a glass of wine.

  40. @Finn — DH still has — and wears — his corporate ski team jacket from when he first moved west in @1990. I love it — black and turquoise and purple and all my favorite colors.

  41. Murphy, another possible topic is the food. E.g., if there’s a dish you like, you can engage with the person who prepared that dish. Or you can pretend to like a dish and engage the person who prepared it.

  42. Murphy, with luck there will be enough basic catching up to do that you can avoid all controversy – what you do for fun, where your kids are at school, etc.

    We have some difficult relatives and I find the safest topics are (1) food and cooking, and (2) old funny stories, especially if they are so old that no one alive can quite remember the details. YMMV.

    Good luck!

    If all else fails, you and your DH can always have a secret game of buzzword bingo going or a series of bets on who will be the first to say “it’s such a pity the children don’t go to church,” or whatever you know will be an issue.

  43. Fun topic!

    I take great joy in purging things so don’t have much. I think the oldest thing I have is a t-shirt from a metric century bike race I did after law school. It was way too big and I used to wear it to sleep in, but now DH does. I used to have a jacket that was my grandmother’s but I think I got rid of it. I felt a pang of regret about that when I started reading this but I’m already over it. (Necessary quality of a good purger, I think). I do have some of her jewelry so that makes it easier.

    BTW, I’ve been thinking of you all for the past hour or so, for a collection of reasons: (1) looked at an SLAC today and have another tomorrow; (2) in a hotel room near L. Michigan right now watching HGTV w/ DD and y’all appear to be HGTVers more than I am (I do love these shows but never have time for them in my high-brow Bravo watching schedule); and (3) Rhode and that delicious baby boy are a mere 3 hours west of us. Killing me that I’ll miss them. Next time, Rhode! Also, (4) I used to think the city we were in earlier today was where Allboys lived and would think about her each time we drove past there en route to/from Chicago.

  44. Good luck Murphy! I always have a bingo game going at family gatherings like Sky described above. I’ve also found Rhett’s advice to repeat the last thing the person said in the form of a question to be useful.

    OT, I wear a cardigan sweater my mother knit for herself in 1965. She was super skilled with any kind of needle. I also have her wedding dress from 1955, which I wore in 1982. I’ve never bought vintage because I know I’m going to have to deal with a ton of it when I end up cleaning out my mother’s closet. On the keepsake front, I am the keeper of the family baptismal gown from 1864 and hope the next generation will still want to use it, but I’m not going to try to control that. Finally, just to disgust Rhett, I have my grandfather’s wool baseball pants from his college team in 1919, along with the hand knit socks that went with it.

  45. Murphy – Good luck. I’d keep in mind that you don’t have to engage in any topic that seems like it’s barbed. You can smile and suddenly need to refill your water glass. If they keep pushing, another smile and, “Let’s talk about something else.” Sometimes when people are outnumbered, they feel they’re required to respond to all questions/comments. You’re not required. I’d definitely leave on the early side, as hopefully a quit-while-you’re-ahead strategy. Maybe you need to invent an early-morning commitment at home for the next morning. Good luck! Let us know how it goes.

  46. A few months back I had lunch with a cousin I hadn’t seen in 15 years for many reasons (age difference, distance, and family squabbles, to name a few). The conversation was mainly focused on our jobs, how grandma is doing, how often do you see here, etc, and the sports our children play. The conversation seemed to move along smoothly

    Hour – I would love to see a picture of that baptismal gown. I was baptized in a gown from the early 1900s. By the time my kids were born the gown was too frail to be worn. The keeper of the gown is some cousin of my mom’s and she has a list of all the babies that wore it, dates, and places. Now I’m curious how many times it was worn.

  47. Ada, that zip-front dress is amazing. I really want that to come back into style.

  48. My only advice is to discuss in advance who will be responsible if a relative becomes truly out of line. DH and I have had some disagreements when I think it’s his issue to defend me and the kids from truly awful behavior from my Inlaws, and he thinks I should handle it myself. It doesn’t matter what you decide as long as everyone has the same expectations.

  49. I just purged six boxes of clothing and shoes. Most of the clothing will never fit again; some were just bad decisions that I rarely wore but hung onto in hopes that I would change my mind. (I have vowed never to buy another pair of shoes just because they are high quality and on sale.) That left room in the closets for the clothes I bought today at Uniqlo, a store I had never heard of until DS clued me in. I hope these items don’t end up in the charity box next year, but they were very attractively priced and I couldn’t resist.

    Oldest things still in my closet are my high school letter jacket and a college sweatshirt I bought just before I graduated and that all the kids have outgrown. I just can’t yet part with it.

    Over the years, I have gone back and forth between buying investment or disposable clothing. But there are so many new sources for disposable clothing that I am leaning in that direction again.

  50. Wow, went to check the news after I saw your comment and had to stop myself from saying the same in front of the children.

  51. Met an elder tailor at an upscale dress store in a toney little town. In the 60+ yrs she’d been working there, she had reworked several wedding dresses across time. One, 17 times. This dear italian lady talked about all of the various styles she had helped create. Never through a scrap of the dress/lace away. It had gone from high-collar and long sleeves to strapless, with a lace shawl. Every bride’s initials and her wedding date was embroidered somewhere in the hem. Grandmothers,aunts, cousins… No one had worn it more than once. It was a different kind of love story. Wonderful history. The dress was at least 50 yrs old and still available.

  52. I’m glad to know other people have had trouble with clothing quality and fabrics, especially in the past 5 years. I thought it was just me. Since I’ve been in the baby/young children cycle and I have little interest in clothes anyway, I’ve only acquired clothes when necessary. I hate modern maternity wear. I ended up wearing tunic sweaters instead. I fear I have one of the older average wardrobe ages. I just wore a red blouse from 28 years ago that I still like.

  53. Thanks for the comments and advice. It will be interesting and probably less awkward than last Christmas when DH’s sister invited us and his ex girlfriend to a Christmas dinner. At this point, the amount of crazy has gotten to the point where I just kind of sit and watch.

  54. I have also noticed clothing quality deteriorating. I am in constant search of jeans that are made mostly of cotton. I hate the feel of the polyester blends.

  55. Lauren – I would never get rid of the Simon and Garfunkel t shirt! That is the concert that I most wish I could have attended.

  56. I have a few cashmere sweaters that I purchased or received as a gift some years back. The oldest (about 18 years old) is a beautiful periwinkle blue, and it really can’t be worn out of the house because my puppy nibbled on the sleeves and chewed several holes in them! I thought it was so cute at the time – not afterwards. Those sweaters were made in Scotland, and they haven’t pilled or deteriorated in any way.

    The cashmere sweaters that I have purchased since then are all made in China, and while I love the lower price, they pill and seem to definitely be of lesser quality.

  57. Yeah “tissue paper” is a great way to describe fabric used in so many clothes now. Shirts for women are the worst.

  58. Was very busy this week, but I saw that “Scarlett” is back. Was so incredibly happy and relieved to see that- looking forward to hearing more of her voice around here.

  59. WCE, what’s not to like about having bows on every maternity garment? ;)

    Ssk, the cashmere from China probably is a lower grade of cashmere because the individual fibers are shorter, which makes it more likely to pill (and cheaper). The goats are likely in a warmer environment than the ones that grow the really long fleece. One of Elizabeth Zimmerman’s knitting books has a good guide to quickly telling good yarn from bad, which boils down to rubbing a few strokes and seeing what happens. I doubt the staff at J. Crew appreciates people rubbing the sleeves of the sweaters and pilling them, though :)

    Uniqlo’s quality was far better several years ago when they first entered the U.S. Now the shirts we bought last year are coming apart at the seams. The shirts I bought 8 years ago are still going strong.

    If anyone has a source for cotton tee shirts that are flattering, not translucent, and under $20, I’m all ears. I’m not buying jeans in case I miraculously lose 10 pounds in 10 days.

  60. We don’t have Uniqlo here, but have liked the clothes we bought when traveling, most recently last year. I bought DD a pair of jeggings there several years ago that she got a lot of use from until she outgrew them.

  61. I ordered half a dozen white T-shirts and found the Croft and Barrow Essential Crewneck tee (no longer in season) to be acceptably thick for a nursing mother. I suspect Costco’s and Target’s T-shirts are fine as well.

    Sky, I hate the modern maternity clothes because they are skin-tight and the tops are see-thru. If I didn’t look good in jeggings and a low cut, fitted top BEFORE I was pregnant, I’m certainly not going to look good in them after. My colleagues are around 60, and neither of us wants to see me in skin-tight maternity clothes. Bows would be way better.

  62. Ris- I’m so sad!!! But it’s too much driving for one day!!

    On topic- the oldest piece of clothing I have is probably my varsity jacket. I think my mom had my old rec soccer league coat from grade school. It probably got donated. DH has a t shirt from 8th grade.

    My wedding dress was retooled this past spring to be a gender neutral baptism gown. While it pissed my mom off that I didn’t use the 100 year old family gown, she loved my gown and cried when she saw it.

    Last day in the Windy City and I’m sad to go. I got to squish babies and see so much. We even have plans for tomorrow before we fly out. Hopefully we’ll be able to visit again soon.

  63. Sky, it’s been probably two years, but the last time I bought tshirts I liked they were at Gap – they were cheap, but the cotton was soft and not as thin as other places.

  64. “If anyone has a source for cotton tee shirts that are flattering, not translucent, and under $20, I’m all ears.”

    I just bought some cotton t shirts and turtlenecks that I love at the ultimate in non-totebaggy establishments, JC Penny. These replaced ones I returned to Lands End, which shrank 3 inches in every direction when I laundered them as directed. They wash well, are sturdy, have hemmed sleeves, and are comfortable. So if status isn’t a factor, St. Johns Bay is the brand.

  65. Actually, now that HFN – mentions it, I have St. Johns Bay capris that have held up very well. After much use they look old but I don’t want to get rid of them because I haven’t found replacement ones. I have to make a special trip to JC Penny next summer for the capris.

    What stores do y’all recommend for tween girls ? I am trying to find a store like Hanna Andresson. Most of the other stores have tops made out of thin material or are too sparkly for an older kid.

  66. GAH! Why do I always miss the clothes topics??? Arggggggggggggggggggg.

    The oldest items I have are (1) formal dress from my grandmother’s best friend, circa 1950 or so, and (2) garish 70s printed overalls from my mom. I also have some dresses from my childhood in the 80s (polly flinders etc.) that my mom recently passed down to my DD, as well as the usual college sweatshirts and wedding dress. My kids (except for the one who was too big by the time the baptism came around) and their cousin all wore my grandfather’s christening gown from 1916; at this point we hope for the babies not to throw up on it so it won’t have to be washed, because the cotton is starting to lose its structural integrity.

    The oldest items *that I still wear* are suits from maybe 4-5 years ago, and then costumes for Halloween or NYE outfits made out of minidresses and other things that I had in law school.

    CoC – my mom still has a wool Larry Levine jacket from around 1977 that has held up very well. IIRC it is a cocoon style, which is BACK IN this season. ;)

    T-shirts: the best ones I have from the past few years are from Boden. I have one from Petit Bateau that is pretty good, but has shrunk slightly. I have heard good things about the ones from Everlane if you are looking for a slouchier style, but haven’t personally tried them. I don’t find it worth it to buy ‘quality’ white t-shirts in particular, because those get stained and even if you get the stain out, the texture gets crunchy afterwards.

    Louise – try Johnny B (Boden’s teen line); it is neither glittery nor poorly made. I know I seem like a shill for them but seriously EVERYTHING I have gotten there has been well-made, except for one shirt that shrank in the wash and I sent back for a refund.

Comments are closed.