Out-of-print Children’s Books

by WCE

I looked for Scott Corbett’s book The Lemonade Trick at the library and was disappointed to find it was no longer available. Fortunately, Amazon has used copies. A couple other favorite children’s authors — Sally Watson and Sydney Taylor (All of a Kind Family) — now have their books back in print. We have a collection of Childhood of Famous Americans books (including lots of out of print ones) and other history books, including the Badger books. What books did you enjoy as a child? Are they still available? Have they been removed from libraries for a reason? (I doubt that drinking unknown concoctions made with your Feats o’ Magic chemistry set is still an acceptable plot line for children’s literature.)

135 thoughts on “Out-of-print Children’s Books

  1. My favorite book in 6th Grade, The Ghost of Opalina, is out of print and print copies are in the hundreds of dollars. Our local library has it as a collectable and it can’t be checked out. I just found it as a Kindle book, but I don’ t have a Kindle. May see if I can read it on the free Kindle App. The pictures make half the story.

  2. I see that Old Mother West Wind is still in print – those were great when I was super little.

    One thing I do when reading children’s books with my kids is change the sex of some characters so that they are girls instead of boys – usually when EVERY ANIMAL in the book is a boy.

  3. Rhett, I loved Little Engine that Could, and my kids do as well.

    My parents saved a number of books from my childhood that my kids now read when they visit. They’ve got a copy of that one, printed in the late 1970s, and it’s interesting to see the differences between that and my son’s 2010 edition. No more pocketknives and pop guns being carried over the mountain in the new one!

  4. My daughters and I loved the Great Brain Series by John Fitzgerald. It is about a 12 year old con artist in Utah in 1890s as told by his younger brother.

  5. Tons of stuff from the so-called Golden Age of Children’s Literature. My very faves were the Edward Eager stories — Half Magic, The Time Garden, and all the others. Also liked E. Nesbit, who inspired Eager. Honolulu Mother will be along shortly to list all the really good kids’ books.

  6. I read a lot of books as a kid that are still popular now: Pippi, the Little House books, Misty of Chincoteague. I adored Pippi.

    I also really loved a particular series of biographies for kids. The series focused a lot on the West: famous explorers, scouts, and all the classic Indian heroes. I remember reading bios of people like Chief Joseph, Crazy Horse, Cochise, and Osceola. I think I developed my first sense of injustice by reading those books. Anyway, this series has disappeared, and there is nothing like it now. The only biography series for kids I can find is the Who Was series : http://www.amazon.com/Who-Betsy-Ross-James-Buckley/dp/0448482436/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1436891339&sr=8-8&keywords=Who+was
    which are just not good, plus the artwork is so ugly I can hardly bear to to look at them. It is sad, because biographies so dominated my reading as a kid, and my kids don’t get to experience those. Today, most kid books are dank, dark dystopias

  7. I recently found a bunch of the old Golden Books in my parents basement. The Pokey Little Puppy and such. I also found the original Little Black Sambo which must have been one of the books my parents read as a child. I loved the big purple shoes and that he turned the tigers into butter. I missed everything else. There was also a Sambo’s restaurant I loved going to with my grandma in the midwest. Funny and good how much things have changed in my lifetime.

  8. I hated The Little Engine That Could as a child, and detested it even more as a parent. Fortunately, my kids all hated it too. I think it is the artwork, which is kind of evil looking. And the writing style is annoying. Sorry, I know some of you posted that you liked the book.

  9. And since the title of this is Out of Print Children’s Books, I am going to see if anyone here recognizes this book, which I have been trying to find for years. This particular book was a story about some children sent to Canada from England for safety during the bombings in WWII. The children arrive in rural Quebec, and the story mostly focuses on them learning the way of life there. They get to know the French speaking neighbor kids, and there is lots of sledding and skiing and rural Canadian life. I cannot remember the title or author. The book would have been written during WWII or shortly after because my mother remembered reading it as a kid. I always wanted to find that book for my kids to read (they have Quebec ancestry on their paternal side)

  10. Parents always die to start the action in children’s books. I told my children, now older, that this is the secret to writing children’s fiction.

  11. @A parent, every stupid Disney show has absent parents of one kind or another, be they in the grave or just in Italy.

  12. I hated The Little Engine That Could as a child, and detested it even more as a parent.

    Hate? Detest? Aren’t these rather strong words to use in regards to a children’s book?

  13. I was really taken with Harold and the Purple Crayon as a child. My kids liked it, too. When my kids were a little younger, they and I really loved the Ramona and Beezus books by Beverly Cleary as read-alouds. I can’t think of any books that I loved as a kid that are now out of print.

  14. “Today, most kid books are dank, dark dystopias”

    I have to disagree, there are TONS of great new books for kids of all ages, they aren’t all Twilight and Hunger Games paranormal and dystopians.

    Many say we are in another golden age of kidlit, I’ll post some faves

  15. I’ll start out with Bob Shea (Unicorn thinks He’s Pretty Great), Deborah Underwood ( A Balloon for Isabel), Kelly DiPucchio (Clink) any of the Mo Willems Pigeon books, etc

  16. for Middle Grade, Jenny Han’s Shug, Jacqueline Woodson’s Brown Girl Dreaming

  17. Walter the Lazy Mouse, by Marjorie Flack. I loved this book and still have it. It has been out of print for years, but lo and behold, it came out again last month.

  18. I can’t think of any that are out of print. My sister has gotten my kids a lot of the books we loved as kids – The Little Engine that Could, Make Way for Ducklings, Goodnight Moon, etc. My oldest has loved Ramona, Pippi, the Borrowers, the Roald Dahl books and Anne of Green Gables. We were just visiting my parents and we found a bunch of old books in the attic to take home with us so my daughter read Dear Mr. Henshaw and the BFG on the way home.

  19. Harriett the Spy. Oh, how I loved her. I understand the movie was terrible.

  20. Yes, I loved Harriet the Spy, and yes, the movie was awful. Totally lost her spirit

  21. Out of print – Mexicali Soup. It was a picture book about a mom who is going to make Mexicali Soup. Over the course of the day, each of her many kids asks her to leave out one particular ingredient for one reason or another. By the time every kid has made their request, there are no ingredients left to include. At dinner time, she brings out hot steaming bowls of water – so quick, so easy!

  22. I checked the list of WWII books, and no, not on there. The book wasn’t really a WWII book – that was just the backdrop. It was more about Canadian life.

    I see Fireweed made that list – I recall buying that from the Scholastic flyer that they handed out in school.

  23. current young adult books to check out that aren’t dystopian or paranormal

    books by Andrew Smith (Winger, 100 Sideways Miles)
    A.S. King (some magical realism) loved Glory O’Brien
    Rainbow Rowell (Fangirl and Eleanor & Park)

  24. Still in print – the Oz books, Pippi, Ramona (I loved reading Ramona and her Mother and Ramona and her Father to DD – it was a good reminder to me as a parent to see things from the kid’s point of view), Charlotte’s Web, Roald Dahl. I loved the Anne of Green Gables books (and still have them) – but I wasn’t able to pass my love for them down to DD. She just did not care for them. I was able to pass my love of the Richard Scarry books to both DD and DS.

  25. Mooshi – I’m with you – I detest the LIttle Engine That Could. It could be SOOO much shorter and still get the point across.

    All – Ages ago I mentioned a private, invitation only Goodreads site for the Totebag. It is set-up with me and Winemama as co-managers (and maybe CoC too?). I think its a fabulous idea, but clearly I do not have the time to launch and monitor it. I don’t want to burden Winemama with running it alone, so if anyone is interested in getting it up and running, please e-mail me at anothertwinmom@gmail.com.

  26. Um, Glory O’Brien looks as dystopian as it gets
    ” Her mother committed suicide when Glory was only four years old, and she’s never stopped wondering if she will eventually go the same way…until a transformative night when she begins to experience an astonishing new power to see a person’s infinite past and future. From ancient ancestors to many generations forward, Glory is bombarded with visions–and what she sees ahead of her is terrifying: A tyrannical new leader raises an army. Women’s rights disappear. A violent second civil war breaks out. And young girls vanish daily, sold off or interned in camps. “

  27. I did read the Long Secret! I have vague recollection of a suntanning mother, and old black preacher, and Harriet’s friend getting her period, but can’ t remember the plot. Not nearly as memorable as her spying days.

  28. Mooshi, you would have to read it, that is the “future” Glory sees. it doesn’t actually happen, it is a contemporary magical realism

  29. Everybody sees the Ants by King was great too, but I didn’t enjoy the magical realism bits as much as in Glory, it is about bullying

    Her book Ask the Passengers deals with a teenager coming to terms with her sexuality as a lesbian

  30. For sci-fi fans – teenage and above – I just read The Martian by Andrew Weir (soon to be a movie with Matt Damon) and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Both are excellent and quick reads.

    As for kids books, most the books I liked as a kid my boys find too girly (Mrs. Piggle Wiggle, the Little House series) and they prefer non-fiction (Weird but True) and non-fiction-like (stats on Pokémon) better than actual fiction. I did get them interested in Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson’s series via Audible.

    For little kids – we loved all the Harold books and The Alphabet Room.

  31. Code Name Verity has been mentioned before (young female pilots in enemy territory in WWII)
    We Were Liars was fantastic

  32. On the sci-fi side, Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not, is being compared to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

  33. Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens is a satire of Lord of the Flies
    Courtney Summers All the Rage deals with the after math of being a date rape victim in high school in a small town

    That’s All for now folks :)

  34. My goodness, it looks like some publisher called Forgotten Books has reissued the George Madden Martin “Emmy Lou” series from the 19th Century. Those are very cute and funny.

  35. It appears that Jacob Two Two meets the Hooded Fang – the original full length chapter book – is out of print. I am shocked – Risley must be on vacation, but it is one of Canada’s great kid books. We had a cassette tape of Christopher Plummer reading a slighted abridged version that I would pay serious money to get in some other form. He even read from it a few years ago at Stratford festival. I purchased a first edition with original drawings for Coco – guess it is time to get around to reading it to her since she is now two plus two plus two years old.

    I hate Dr Seuss books, even if my grandchildren remind me that hate is a four letter word not permitted to pass the lips of the properly indoctrinated.

    All children’s adventure literature, and much young adult adventure literature, and the sort of romance literature with a very young heroine, from Bambi on up, starts with deceased, distracted or physically absent parents, especially with no mother. A well supervised child or baby animal not living in a disaster or war zone cannot by definition find herself in the slightest bit of peril.

  36. I hate Dr Seuss books

    REALLY? All of them? Even the older, less-preachy ones?

    even if my grandchildren remind me that hate is a four letter word not permitted to pass the lips of the properly indoctrinated.

    Oh dear God.

  37. Ok, speaking of YA, Loved Forever (so naughty) and all the Sweet Valley High books. Do kids read comics anymore? Loved picking up Archie comics for family car trips. I love Dr. Seuss. Seeing how fluidly I can read Fox in Socks is still a favorite past time for me.

  38. Agree with RMS! Really can’t say hate? I love to hate! We have no banned words, it is how you speak to each other that matters. Banning words is a lazy way to try to teach respect.

  39. We also ban the word “hate” along with “stupid” and “poop”. Guess how well that works? ;)

  40. I liked the Great Brain series, Judy Blume, and From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil E Franweiler. We’ve been reading some Judy Blume kid books this year, so I was excited when I saw a new release for adults. I just finished the book, and I thought it was ok.

    A favorite book that I read in HS is To Kill a Mockingbird. I decided that I am not going to read her new novel because I just don’t want to mess with my positive experience.

  41. L – wait til they get to “idiot”, “what the”, “frick”, “friggin”, and variations thereof – at age 6. Ah, public school.

    My boys loved the part in “Inside Out” where Anger got an upgrade on all the bad words he could say.

  42. I never read Half Magic as a kid, but I just read it with my kids and my dd loved it. Thanks for the reminder, Rocky, to pick up others by the same author at the library. I’m another one who likes the story of the Little Engine that could, but I find the book painful to read. Charlotte’s Web and Trumpet of the Swan are big around here. The Ramona books are well loved by my kids. Clementine is a newer set of books that remind me of a modern version of the Ramona books and have been fun as read alouds. Neither of my kids care for the Little House books, it seems.

    Mooshi– I can’t vouch for anyone else, but at the age I would have been reading YA literature I was all about drama, and imagining how other people dealt with situations dramatically worse than my own. I remember reading some ridiculously sad book about a girl whose mom died of cancer during a time where one particular song was always on the radio– to this day any time I hear that song I can remember that feeling as though it were yesterday, not 20-25 years ago.

  43. The preschool bans the word “hate.” We don’t ban it, but we generally intercept to come up with a different term. (So my kids don’t run around the house screaming, ‘I hate you!” at each other….)

    I was super-amused when I said, “What the heck?” at something, and my 5 year old piped up, “What the heck is a bad word, Mommy.” Um, nope. It’s not. And Mommy can say what she wants. You can too, some day….. that must have also come from the preschool.

  44. for those who like Forever, The Infinite Moment of Us by Lauren Myracle is being called a modern version. the sex is more graphic than I remember there being in Forever, some are saying this should make it New Adult instead of YA. spoiler alert – the couple stays together at the end in this one

  45. Tulip, if your daughter is like the young me, she’ll love the fact that the characters in Half Magic and Magic by the Lake are the parents of the characters in Knight’s Castle and TIme Garden, and there are chapters in different books where they overlap.

  46. Both my kids loved Dr. Seuss. Those books improved reading fluency for my non reader. At one time we had three different copies of The Cat in the Hat. I *felt* that Dr. Seuss was/is a part of American childhood. I hadn’t heard of Dr. Seuss till DS was little and it was recommended that you should read to young children. Reading to young kids was not a part of my childhood.

  47. “Reading to young kids was not a part of my childhood.”

    this makes me sad

    and I LOVE reading Dr. Seuss to DS. I think I like the books more now than I did as a kid, and I love the illustrations

  48. My reluctant reader discovered Calvin and Hobbes on vacation. Big win – she was sitting with the books for an hour at a time.

  49. <iFor sci-fi fans – teenage and above – I just read The Martian by Andrew Weir (soon to be a movie with Matt Damon) and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel. Both are excellent and quick reads.

    I thought The Marian was just okay. I didn’t like how they got caught up in the minutiae of planting potatoes, setting up solar panels, etc.

  50. Sorry to be off topic to the extent that college can ever really be off topic here, what is the deal with Rhodes College? I read the website but have no real idea why 2 great students from my state (several states away) are going there.

  51. Denver – No doubt Andrew Weir is truly dorky, but I liked that level of detail in the story. It made it more realistic for me and it wasn’t too much. I think he could work on having his characters not all be the cool dorks and have more variation in the characters’ temperaments. Luckily the story really focused on the main character.

    I started to read Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea – wow, is there way to much detailed description of every detail, for my taste.

  52. A parent–Rhodes is a pretty good school, especially for pre med, that gives LOTS of merit aid. Very popular with smart kids who don’t get need based aid but can’t or don’t want to pay the full cost of private college. DS has visited there.

  53. I remember going to a grad school party after spending the day with my two year old nephew, reading green eggs and ham several times. At some point in the party, everyone who grew up in the U.S. started reciting green eggs and ham. The international students were nonplussed.

  54. On topic, most of the Shoes books by Noel Streatfield are still out of print. They’ve brought back four or five of them but not all. Those were my favorites as a child.

    Just think, someday Harry Potter will be out of print and our children will be waxing nostalgic.

  55. It seems as though Rhodes offers a number of merit-based scholarships – some of them nearly cover tuition
    . http://www.rhodes.edu/academics/6920.asp

    I would love my kids to go to a SLAC and not pay full cost. I would encourage them to go to a good (not great) school that offered them a significant discount – the above aid awards could make it cheaper than Flagship U.

  56. Just think, someday Harry Potter will be out of print and our children will be waxing nostalgic.

    No it won’t. It will be one of those books that is always available.

  57. I just found “Sunday Morning” at a used book store. I had never seen it before (it is by the same person who wrote Alexander and the no-good very bad day). It is beautiful and hilarious and I read it out loud at least 10 times the first day we had it. I can’t describe it nearly as well as this angry Amazon review:

    The illustrations are done in black shadow with blue and white. They are dark which makes it difficult to see exactly what is going on.

    I love Judith Viorst, but I was disturbed by several aspects of this story. First is when the parents come home it appears no one is watching the children. They are supposed to be in bed, but the older boy had been obviously running around before the parents come in the door.

    Next is the fact that the older boy takes the name of God in vain several times because, “there are no grown-ups around to tell me don’t say God.”

    I cannot fault the children’s poor behavior because they are unsupervised and have energy they need to use. But the parents keep threatening through the wall to spank the children which is a very ineffective tactic. And when the parents do get up, instead of expecting the children to clean up their messes, they all snuggle on the couch like the happiest of families.

    This story sets bad examples for children and shows some very poor parenting. I don’t find the boys’ antics to be funny. I cannot recommend this story for any audience

  58. Benefits Lawyer – my local library has a bunch of those books. I have been reading them myself!

  59. I just finished All the Light We Cannot See and Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea plays a significant role in it.

    I liked The Martian. I thought, this will make a good movie, not knowing one was already in the works.

  60. I loved Barbapapa’s as a little girl. I still have my original copy, so worn out with love. My kids love it too. it is little known, and I believe originally released in French.

    I also will join the anti-Seuss group. I never cared for the stories or pictures as kid and still don’t. We read Richard Scarry instead.

  61. Some books do stick around forever. My son just read Tuck Everlasting and I read that in elementary school, too.

  62. loved Tuck Everlasting, re-read it earlier this year (had not read it since 6th grade)

  63. The books I loved most that I can’t find now are from my junior high years. One in particular, called Ox Goes North, by John Ney, was one of my favorites (it is about a big, rich, smart-aleck kid from Palm Beach who has to go to summer camp in New England and get tangled in a family drama). It looks like there may be some odd copies on Amazon.

    Another author I liked was Helen Markley Miller – she wrote adventure/romance books about teenage girls, usually in the unsettled west. A fun modern one that she wrote (circa early 70’s) called Beloved Monster, was one of dd’s favorites as well. I luckily had my old copy still! It is about a girl who inherits a big, old house from a distant uncle, and she has to live there for a while – mystery and romance ensue!

  64. I’m scared because I got Bernie Sanders, but Hillary was a close second. I thought I moved a little more to the right in the last few years, but it appears that it is a good thing that I still live in a very liberal state.

    One of my favorite books that is fairly new is Wonder. I know some people don’t like it, but I really enjoyed reading it.

  65. Apparently I need to start paying closer attention to Marco Rubio. He’s my guy.

  66. @Lauren – Wonder is a favorite at my kids’ school. I’m sure it will be one of the analyzed to death novels for kid # 2.

  67. I also got Bernie Sanders (81%), but I’m dubious.

    A line by line look shows I agree with him on 12 questions, but disagree on 11. Of the questions in the agree category, 4 have no Sanders position; of the disagree questions, only 1 has no Sanders position.

    Hillary is in second at 72%, but we agree on 9 questions, 3 of which have Hillary positions, and disagree on 14, of which 10 have Hillary positions.

  68. I think after Alibris and Amazon and so on made it easier to find used books, some publishers sat up and took notice of all the out-of-print books that were selling for $80 and up. A lot of those came back into print a few years later. The Little Broomstick by Mary Stewart is a good example — a magic school more dysfunctional than Hogwarts. (But I checked just now and it looks like it’s dropped out of print again.) House of Stairs is back in print, which makes sense because it is indeed dark and dystopian. So is Enchantress from the Stars, which isn’t. And of course some of the really old ones are free on Kindle now, like the Five Little Peppers series.

    BTW, those who love the old time-travel-themed books like Charlotte Sometimes and Tom’s Midnight Garden and the Green Knowe books should try Beswitched.

  69. Holy smokes! 37% Ted Cruz! Seems implausible since I despise him. Must be a general Texas influence. 74% HRC, but 66% Trump.

  70. Re Archie comics, my daughter loves those. Is anyone else buying the Archie versus Predator series?

    There are a lot of great kid-oriented comics around, but we tend to buy them in collected form, especially the ones that start as webcomics. Polly and the Pirates, Princess Ugg, Bone of course, Bad Machinery, Salt Water Taffy, Digger, and the beloved PS 238. I just ran across a new one, Lumberjanes.

  71. Meme, I tried YouTube as it sometimes has audiobooks, but what it has is this children’s show (from the 90s?):

  72. Sanders 81% HRC 80%
    Then O’Malley, Bush, Rubio in the high 60s
    Don’t remember my lowest.

    I’m always amazed at how liberal I come out on all these. But I’ve always said I am economically conservative and socially liberal.

  73. Thanks for the Rhodes feedback. This blog takes a political quiz, then remarks at how liberal the results are every six months.

  74. There clearly needs to be a lot of assumption and conjecture on the part of the quiz writers to figure out what some of the candidates actually stand for. They’re moving targets.

  75. “Thanks for the Rhodes feedback. This blog takes a political quiz, then remarks at how liberal the results are every six months.”

    That’s very true. There’s definitely a bit of the “nobody I know voted for Nixon” going on.

  76. The jacob two two movie was ghastly. The cartoon show was for mass consumption, and there were also a series of kiddie picture books with his adventures.

    I was 96% Sanders, 86% Clinton, followed by O’Malley in the 50s and Christie the first RINO at 44%. I didn’t look any further. I guess that means I am a Democrat.

  77. This might be of interest to those who were in the recent common core discussion:

    “http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/monkey-cage/wp/2015/07/14/when-the-teachers-edition-is-wrong/”

  78. I am a little skeptical of that quiz, too. I also came out strongly as a Sanders guy with HRC next. I am a bit surprised that quite a few of us came out that way too. I kind of wonder if that quiz wasn’t skewed in some way toward Bernie Sanders.

    I was only 73% with Hillary, which I thought was way low. It doesn’t make a difference because if she is nominated, I am voting for her.

    Unsurprisingly, Jeb! and I have little in common. Never have. He was a terrible governor, and his legacy is urban sprawl and the Everglade. (There used to be Everglades– plural– and they were very ecologically important.)

  79. Finn– That’s painful. If anything, that discussion “for parents” would be beyond many (many!) of the parents at my kids’ school. And useless for everyone else.

  80. Totally off subject: Does anyone understand how Prime Day tomorrow will work over on Amazon? Are they going to be pop-up specials or are things just on sale in every department?

  81. Thanks HM. I did ask the google a year ago and found nothing, but I didn’t try the book name plus cassette tape. I ordered it with an mp3 transfer. I do have a cassette player, but I fear that it would mangle it immediately.. Now they just have to sleep over at my house….

    I am going to be out most of tomorrow, but on Amazon prime day I wouldn’t mind that drinkwell pet fountain.

  82. Also off topic…does anyone here actually like chili-flavored chocolate?

    My children and I can tolerate it as part of the variety pack, but I don’t see the point. Is it just something we do as a nod to the Aztecs?

  83. I don’t like a lot of the flavored chocolates. I am buying a lot of candy for camp visiting day, and it is a lot of fun to see some of the candy from childhood mixed in with the new stuff in 5 Below.

    I am waiting for my electrician so I am watching the Today show and Al just mentioned that the snow in Boston is finally gone. I am hoping for a mild winter next year, but at least I won’t be freezing in bathroom because it will finally be insulated.

  84. “Al just mentioned that the snow in Boston is finally gone”

    It was a Jeopardy question last night. Really, it was just a photograph of Fenway Park covered in snow, and the question was a convoluted way of asking “what’s the name of the famous baseball park in Boston?”

    L – we love the orange-flavored chocolates.

  85. Apparently, I am HRC all the way. Surprise.

    Adore Seuss. I found reading out loud to my kids relatively painful; most books seem like they were written to be read in your head, not out loud. Seuss, though, man. Like music. The man had an ear for language, and a great sense of the absurd.

    I love chocolate with chile in it (though this is probably the only place I prefer red to green). We have a coffee shop nearby that does an “Aztec cocoa,” with cinnamon and almond and chile and dark chocolate, and it is awesome. This is also one of the few exceptions I make to my general rule of “don’t F with my chocolate.”

  86. clicked on “prime day” logo because I was in our amazon acct. took me to a bunch of offers for prime members. e.g. Kindle Fire HD7 for $79 ($99 for the 16gb version)

  87. glanced at prime day deals, didn’t see much I wanted

    was looking for book/DVD/music deals

  88. Yeah, not anything I wanted. I was hoping for a general “20% off for prime members” as we’re eyeing a floor lamp, but no such luck. Bought it already anyway.

  89. That Prime day thing is bogus. There is almost nothing of worth on it. I did see a Raspberry Pi 2 pack for a good price as an upcoming Lightening deal, and since my kids have been pushing for one, I sat there and waited for the time frame. Within 2 minutes of the deal becoming available, I clicked, and it said that all were taken and I would be on the wait list. Yet, when I go back to the main page, it is listed as being still available. What gives?

  90. is it available on the main at the same price as the deal? If not, then they’re just limiting the quantities at a specific price.

  91. I looked at Amazon and there was a deal on gift cards but is now gone. I don’t really need anything so I am going to channel my inner MMM and leave things in my cart and delete them later.
    I am still chuckling over Meme’s four letter “H” word. In our house that “H” word is “Hell”. I have been chided for saying “What the hell”. I have caught smalls saying “What the fudge” under their breadths.

  92. Yeah, I can still get it at the regular price. I was striking mainly because the deal was 50% off. What I object to is that the quantity is so limited, that 2 minutes after the start of the lightening deal, it is already completely unavailable. I got put on a waitlist, whatever that means. And worse yet, the lightening deal page was still showing it as available. To me, that is a scam.

  93. @Mooshi – it feels like they could be testing their programs for Black Friday, seeing how people react to lightening deals etc.

  94. Wow, the website did a horrible job explaining what “Prime Day” is — what I heard is that it’s the anniversary of when they introduced Prime, so they’re making it a huge event (I assume in the “event as advertising” way). I was hoping there’d be a one-day drop in the price of a Prime membership so I could sign back up. :-) No such luck, though.

  95. The lightning deals for Black Friday were good, especially for little kid toys and books. The only Kindle Fire left is the 8GB. I was thinking about picking up another one because we drive up to Mass in the summer and my youngest is almost 2 and will want her own next year.

  96. I shopped amazon a lot last christmas, many of the lightning deals sell out within one minute (limited quantity). you have to act fast on the best deals

  97. I need to channel my inner MMM as well, I usually do well with controlling my spending, but amazon makes it so damn easy to click and buy

  98. “I also found the original Little Black Sambo which must have been one of the books my parents read as a child.”

    I have this as well. My mom gave it to me, it was from my great-grandmother’s things. I loved the book’s plot as a child, the tigers melting into butter for the pancakes. Can you imagine a book with a title like that today? “Little White Susie” etc?

  99. I love the chocolate with red chili. In small amounts, with a bit of warming, it’s awesome. Then again, I really don’t like the taste of chocolate with the orange oil stuff in it. Shrug. Different tastes.

    The prime day stuff is just not a big enough drop on most things to be useful and/or I’m not going to stalk deals all day for something. I saw an email marking Instapot as “54% off.” Well. Sort of. List price is around $235. It’s listed at approximately $135 (I’m not going back for the exact numbers, but underneath it calculates that as 44% off. Ha!) It’s been listed between $132 and $135 for weeks and months, so that’s not really a deal in my book. Not sure if it’s been brought up here before, but camelcamelcamel.com will let you input the url for any amazon item and get a graph of where the various price points have been. I use that a lot with amazon. I also downloaded a plug-in called Invisible Hand. It shows up at the top of the screen when you search amazon and tells you where deals are cheaper, if there are any (including shipping costs) and on other sites will give you available coupon codes.

  100. ” I loved the book’s plot as a child, the tigers melting into butter for the pancakes”

    So that’s the book. I have been trying to find it for years, but I couldn’t remember more than that story and the one where the boy is all out of run. The tiger tells the boy to run, the boy says he can’t because he is all out of run. The tiger asks why, the boys spins this long tale of everything that has chased him that day. At the end of it, the tiger says he will eat the boy, the boy says, no, now I’m rested and can run again.

Comments are closed.